Author Topic: Stadium Field Mics  (Read 3424 times)

Offline theride

• FAN REACTION: +1/-12
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Stadium Field Mics
« on: May 10, 2021, 03:43:40 PM »
Does anyone know how much field mics cost for football fields to transmit over the stadium PA.  Wanting to purchase one for our football field, but just want a very basic model. Does anyone know of a website that sells these with affordable prices.  Any assistance would be appreciated.

Offline bossman72

• FAN REACTION: +301/-25
Re: Stadium Field Mics
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2021, 06:48:10 PM »
Does anyone know how much field mics cost for football fields to transmit over the stadium PA.  Wanting to purchase one for our football field, but just want a very basic model. Does anyone know of a website that sells these with affordable prices.  Any assistance would be appreciated.

I'm no expert, but I think it depends on the brand of PA system you currently have.  If you have wireless handheld microphones for homecoming, graduation, etc, you probably just want to buy one that's the same brand.

Just a few things to note:  If at all possible, make it a lapel microphone and not a headset microphone.  Also, be sure to buy a mute switch in addition to the main pack and make sure the mute switch is a toggle switch and not a push button.  The range will have to be pretty far to get from the press box to the far corners of the field too.

Offline HLinNC

• FAN REACTION: +133/-24
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2021, 09:23:50 PM »
Shure seems to be the leading manufacturer that I see.   Most stadiums I work don't use them and some that did have stopped.    BSN has belt pack/mic sets for about $400 but how do you integrate into the PA?  I dunno.  I think you have to have a pretty good antenna system mounted outside the press box to get a quality signal into the PA system.