Author Topic: Ethical question  (Read 4170 times)

AFSST

Ethical question
« on: August 25, 2012, 07:47:51 AM »
I'm new to this web site and appreciate the professional discussion/banter among officials.  So I figured it would be safe to post this "ethical" question for your opinion.  This has nothing to do with us as officials, but with what you would hypothetically do as a head coach:

There are a few seconds left in the game, and your team is behind 20-19.  It's fourth down on the 3 yard line, and your team lining up to kick a "game winning" field goal.  The attempted FG is blocked and as the ball is loose on the field, an unnamed official (not from any of our associations of course) sounds his whistle.  So we have an IW, and by rule, you now have a second attempt at the game winning FG.

So here's my dilemma if I'm the head coach.  The opposing team "accomplished" their goal to win the game by blocking the kick.  However, the IW gives me a second chance.  It is within the rules to line up and kick the FG?  Absolutely!  Officials are part of the game, just like baseball officials who many miss a ball/strike call behind the plate or safe/out call on the bases.  However, is this truly the "right thing" to do?  Could I possibly teach my players a greater life lesson by having my QB take a knee to end the game?  (Should Colorado have vacated their "5th down" win against Missouri in their 1990 national championship season?)

(In soccer, if a player is hurt and that team kicks the ball OOB to stop play, most of the time the team with the throw-in will toss the ball to the opponent to start play.  An we've probably heard of the softball players that carried an opponent around the bases after a game winning home run.  Is this similar?)