Now that the season is starting, has anyone received any further communication on this topic? How do you plan to officiate this play this weekend?
My thoughts....
A try from the B3. B player is lined up on the GL. At the snap, he runs to the LOS and jumps straight up in the air......No Foul.
A try from the B3. B player is lined up on the GL. At the snap, he runs to the LOS and jumps through the gap between the guard and center.....Foul.
Let me know what you guys think!
If he is able to jump/leap through a gap, making no (or only the slightest contact to the arms of opponents), then he has NOT fouled.
This also applies to players in the tackle box attempting to get over/through the punt protectors.
If a player leaps into the plane directly above the frame of an opponent, there is very little possibility that he will not land on the opponent - even if just brushing his shoulder on the way down. Yes, he might be able to totally clear the opponent, but he will have clearly leaped into the frame of the opponent in doing so. That's a foul.
An opponent's extended arms are not within the frame of the body. So, if a defensive player leaps and contacts only ARMS (not shoulders), then he would not be guilty of leaping. But, with splits as they are, it will be very difficult for a defensive player to leap and not get into the frame of the opponent's body.
But, simply jumping straight up is no longer a foul, by rule. A leap by a player that was stationary within one yard of the NZ is not a foul. Although not specifically stated, the intent there is regarding leaping over the offensive linemen at their LOS. If such defensive player breaks through the offensive line and attempts to leap a punt protector, he is governed by 11-c.
This was probably the best rule change made in many, many years.
Robert