I have no dog in this hunt, but I saw something about a "controversial" call that resulted in a touchback rather than an out of bounds call late in this game.
I checked out the replays and can't figure out why the original call of touchback wasn't changed to a fumble out of bounds before the goal line. (unless, see below) It seemed pretty obvious to me that the ball went OB at least a yard short of the pylon. Is this situation simply not enough evidence to overturn or is there a rule that I am missing that resulted in the call?
Looking at the tape it appears that the ball crosses the sideline around the 2, or so, but does not touch the ground until it is behind the extended goal line (extended left/right from the pylons). My guess is that the ball is dead at the location of where it first contacts the ground, and not the spot where the ball crosses the sideline.
This could have been written better, but I hope you get the point of the question.