Author Topic: Pass After a Kick  (Read 4895 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Pass After a Kick
« on: October 23, 2018, 07:23:49 AM »
4-10-A-45. Team A lines up in a punt formation with A3 lined up as a flyer, (the widest man in the formation on the left side). A1’s punt is blocked at the A-35 and the ball bounces into A1’s hands (still behind the LOS)  . A1 then immediately passes the ball to A3 at the B-40. Just before the catchable pass reaches A3 at the B-40, B1 pushes A3 out of the way and B1 intercepts the pass and is downed at the 50 yd. line.  RULING?

Offline Sonofanump

  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2018, 07:42:12 AM »
So, the ball was thrown 25 yards?  Was the trajectory of the pass high?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2018, 07:58:29 AM »
Good point.  No, lets say it was a normal pass

Offline Clear Lake ref

  • *
  • Posts: 233
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2018, 08:27:02 AM »
The trajectory would be irrelevant, the wide out is not a potential kicker in a scrimmage kick formation.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 08:40:25 AM »
????  Has nothing to do with him in being  a potential kicker

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2018, 08:44:28 AM »
I'm not seeing any difficulty here. The trajectory exeption does not apply as per description (A1 is still a potential kicker), pass interference rules apply even after a kick if the forward pass is legal and PSK does not come into play, so it's gonna be team A's ball, 1/10 at B-40, take your pick on the lateral positioning of the ball. Game clock on the snap, though, as it was a legal kick down.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2018, 10:23:35 AM »
team A's ball, 1/10 at B-40, take your pick on the lateral positioning of the ball.
Kalle, I think you are saying this because the foul occurs exactly 15 yards beyond the NZ, so you may be thinking it could be either a spot foul OR 15 yards from the previous spot (both yield the B-40).  However, in actuality, if the foul is 15 or more yards from the previous spot, the penalty is 15 yards from the previous spot (which means both longitudinally and laterally).  It has to be LESS than 15 yards from the previous spot for the enforcement to be at the spot of the foul (which are the only instances of the penalty not being in line with the previous spot.  So, in this case, the penalty would be 15 yards from the previous spot, in line with the previous spot laterally.

Robert

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2018, 11:29:21 AM »
Kalle, I think you are saying this because the foul occurs exactly 15 yards beyond the NZ, so you may be thinking it could be either a spot foul OR 15 yards from the previous spot (both yield the B-40).

I blame the slight flu I have! This is one of my pet trick questions, and I blew it :) Thanks again for noticing the mistake.

Offline Sonofanump

  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2018, 01:50:42 PM »
The trajectory would be irrelevant, the wide out is not a potential kicker in a scrimmage kick formation.

After further contemplating, I now think trajectory would be irrelevant, but I think the key is that it would not be simulating a SK.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Pass After a Kick
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2018, 01:58:40 PM »
Not DPI : "When there is contact by a Team B player that otherwise would be pass interference during a down in which a Team A potential kicker, from a scrimmage kick formation, simulates a scrimmage kick by throwing the ball high and deep. "