Author Topic: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward  (Read 11992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« on: January 01, 2011, 09:43:28 PM »
I dont have a clip of this, sorry, but I wanted to get y'alls interpretation and see if you can point me to the rulebook reference.

A33 breaks a run and is running in the open field. As he gets to the B41 yardline, defender B48 knocks the ball out of A33's arms forward. The ball flies in the air and as it nears the B9, A33 falls on top of the ball and goes OOB.

Here's what the crew did: Ball was spotted back at the B41 where posession was lost.

Why is this the call? As I read rule 4-2-4d which says a live ball that goes OOB without crossing the end lines is declared dead at the forward progress point.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8772
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2011, 09:44:52 PM »
7-2-4-b   Correctly officiated

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1314
  • FAN REACTION: +36/-50
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 08:43:00 AM »
7-2-4-b   Correctly officiated

Mike,

(Just curious - HS official without NCAA rule book); Q: Didn't see the play; was it 4th down?  I understand "re-spotting" on forward fumble on 4th down; but does it apply on other than 4th?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8772
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 08:45:03 AM »
If it is a fumble fwd that is declared OOB it goes back to spot of fumble regardless of down

Diablo

  • Guest
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2011, 08:47:35 AM »
I understand "re-spotting" on forward fumble on 4th down; but does it apply on other than 4th?

Any down, anytime during the game, either team A or B.

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1314
  • FAN REACTION: +36/-50
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2011, 09:55:56 AM »
WOW! Thanks guys.

Hadn't heard that (or seen it frankly)...When did the rule change to make it on any down?

cincybearcat

  • Guest
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2011, 10:09:12 AM »
rule is in place so a runner along the sidelines can't "accidently" fumble the ball forward out of bounds to gain more yardage

Diablo

  • Guest
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2011, 10:17:23 AM »
Hadn't heard that (or seen it frankly)...When did the rule change to make it on any down?

The forward fumble OB has been the same since its inception.

I think you are confusing that rule with the fourth down/try fumble recovered by the non-fumbler.

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2011, 11:17:42 AM »
Thanks Mike. Didnt think to look in rule 7. Why is OOB rule in the Snapping and Passing section?

Offline Ump62

  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-0
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2011, 11:42:05 AM »
Rule change was in 1989.
Anatomy of a Game - David M Nelson
Page 530, Appendix 2, 1989 -
"Fumbles forward out of bounds returned to the spot of the fumble."

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1314
  • FAN REACTION: +36/-50
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2011, 11:46:44 AM »
The forward fumble OB has been the same since its inception.

I think you are confusing that rule with the fourth down/try fumble recovered by the non-fumbler.

You're probably right!

I've watched a LOT of college games in my day; but this is the first time I've read or heard the complete explanation this particular play.  Thanks everyone.

Just "curious" and trying to learn.... 

Offline TxSkyBolt

  • *
  • Posts: 2007
  • FAN REACTION: +45/-46
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2011, 11:56:13 AM »
I dont have a clip of this, sorry, but I wanted to get y'alls interpretation and see if you can point me to the rulebook reference.

A33 breaks a run and is running in the open field. As he gets to the B41 yardline, defender B48 knocks the ball out of A33's arms forward. The ball flies in the air and as it nears the B9, A33 falls on top of the ball and goes OOB.

Here's what the crew did: Ball was spotted back at the B41 where posession was lost.

Why is this the call? As I read rule 4-2-4d which says a live ball that goes OOB without crossing the end lines is declared dead at the forward progress point.

I'm guessing with all the discussion, this play did not happen as was described above, namely that the fumble was NOT recovered and then the player went out of bounds, but rather the "recovered" was OOB when he "recovered" the ball.  If it would have happened as described, it would be next down at spot of recovery, unless 4th down.

 Best regards,

brad

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2011, 12:12:43 PM »
I'm guessing with all the discussion, this play did not happen as was described above, namely that the fumble was NOT recovered and then the player went out of bounds, but rather the "recovered" was OOB when he "recovered" the ball.  If it would have happened as described, it would be next down at spot of recovery, unless 4th down.

 Best regards,

brad

Didn't say he recovered at the 9, just that he fell on the ball there  ;). I would assume you're correct, brad. They determined the ball wasn't recovered so the ball goes back to the spot where posession was lost.

Diablo

  • Guest
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2011, 01:57:45 PM »
Mike,
(Just curious - HS official without NCAA rule book);

MIke must be tied up videoing.
I believe you can download a NCAA football rules book at

http://ncaapublications.com/p-3926-2009-10-ncaa-football-rules-and-interpretations-2-year-publication.aspx

Offline BamaRef

  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • FAN REACTION: +7/-1
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2011, 03:50:30 PM »
Clock on R's signal.

RefRoc

  • Guest
Re: Sun Bowl Fumble Forward
« Reply #15 on: January 02, 2011, 06:50:56 PM »
2009-2010 NCAA FB Rulebook:  FR-101   7-2-4b1

That's your answer
Sun Bowl Crew was right.