Author Topic: Declined by Rule ... ?  (Read 3948 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

joeri

  • Guest
Declined by Rule ... ?
« on: October 05, 2011, 04:27:42 AM »
Hey folks,

Been roaming the rulebook looking for new adventures ;-)

Consider these ARs AR 6.3.2 to clarify rule 10-2-5-a-2:

III. Team A’s punt goes beyond the neutral zone and is first touched by A80,
then picked up by B40, who runs five yards and fumbles. A20 picks up
the fumble and scores. During A20’s run, B70 holds. RULING: Fiveand
10-yard penalties are not administered on the try or the succeeding
kickoff. The penalty for Team B’s foul is declined by rule. The ball
belongs to Team B at the spot of illegal touching (Rule 10-2-5-a-2).

IV. Team A’s punt goes beyond the neutral zone and is first touched by A80,
then picked up by B40, who runs five yards and fumbles. B70 holds
during B40’s run. A20 picks up the fumble and scores. RULING: Fiveand
10-yard penalties are not administered on the try or the succeeding
kickoff. The penalty for Team B’s foul may be enforced, per Rule 5-2-4.
The ball belongs to Team B, either at the spot of illegal touching if Team
A declines the penalty, or at the spot resulting from enforcement of the
penalty (Rule10-2-5-a-2).

Okay, I'm trying to get my head around this.
So it's during which related run the foul occurs.
In III it's during A's run ending in a TD meaning the penalty is declined by rule.

Now imagine III, but now A20 is tackled at the B-1.
So 10-2-5-a-2 no longer applies. The penalty is NOT declined by rule, meaning that A has the option to (and will) accept this penalty,  which cancels the illegal touching violation.
And will leave the ball (all-but-one) for A 1st&goal at B-1/2 y line ?
I must be missing something , please help!
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 04:32:37 AM by joeri »

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Declined by Rule ... ?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 08:20:05 AM »
Nope, you're not missing anything. If team A commits an illegal touching violation, they are better off if they don't score on that down (apart from a safety). This is intentional but I'm not sure of the rationale.

joeri

  • Guest
Re: Declined by Rule ... ?
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2011, 02:32:02 AM »
Thanks Kalle.

Since I got you attention now ;-)
2 minor changes:

Let's say situation III but now B70 clips instead of holds. Now in this case the penalty is NOT declined by rule and A is allowed to accept it on Try or ensuing kick off. So in this case, again, touchdown. Right?

Let's say situation III but B70 holds during the fumble (while ball is loose). This is considered to be part of B's run, afaik. So this is similar to AR IV then with basic spot the spot of the fumble (End of the Run). Correct?

Cheers
Joeri


Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Declined by Rule ... ?
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2011, 03:22:50 AM »
Yes to both cases :)