Author Topic: inadvertant whistle  (Read 3610 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

concordref

  • Guest
inadvertant whistle
« on: October 23, 2011, 01:15:31 PM »
I am a NFHS ref, but I was watching a small college  game  yesterday, and the linejudge had a in advertant whistle during the PAT.  The kick was blocked and R picked it up and ran it back the other way for a 2 point score.  The R waved the points off the scoreboard and let the kicking team punt again which they made.  It was reported in the local paper, that R told the coach after the game, that he had made a mistake on that play and that he was sorry.  Did the R made a mistake or was he right in letting K retry the extra point.

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: inadvertant whistle
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2011, 01:44:17 PM »
It depends on what was the status of the ball at the time of the IW. If team B (R in NFHS terms) had possession, the try is over, no score (4-1-2-b-4).

If the ball was loose from the kick, the try is replayed (4-1-2-b-3).

Note that in both cases there are no options for either team.