Author Topic: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield  (Read 4303 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 940AC

  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« on: September 22, 2018, 07:57:09 PM »
Linemen downfield late 2nd quarter.
Tech QB rolls out of pocket and throws pass away. Linemen well downfield, and R announces that due to QB out of the pocket, and pass was legally grounded there is no foul on the play for ineligible downfield.
Where is the ruling on this?
7-3-10 Ineligible Receiver Downfield has no exception I can find?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2018, 08:04:38 PM »
I think it is in the philosophies section of CCA manual

Offline TxBJ

  • *
  • Posts: 416
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-6
Re: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2018, 08:05:33 PM »
I think it is in the philosophies section of CCA manual
Pretty sure you are correct.

Offline Birddog

  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-2
Re: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2018, 08:48:00 PM »
Same philosophy would apply if receiver is behind the LOS for a screen pass and pass is over-thrown and lands beyond the LOS.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2018, 09:25:01 PM »
To validate this answer, understand the the officiating manuals used by all NCAA football officials is published by the Collegiate Commissioners Association(CCA).  That means they approve the Philosophies section of the manuals.

Now, to quote the pertinent statement from the Philosophies section of the CCA Manual: "If the passer is legally throwing the ball away out of bounds, near or beyond the sideline, do not penalize the offense for having ineligible players downfield."

The offense gains no advantage by having ineligible players downfield when the ball gets thrown away where virtually nobody has a chance to get to the ball.

Correct ruling by the crew.

Robert

Offline Dakota Dan

  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-1
  • ΦΑ ΣAE SD Theta
Re: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2018, 03:52:29 PM »
did not see the play; however, by philosophy you will not have idp if the qb legally grounds the ball by throwing it out of bounce.  If the qb legally grounded it and the ball lands in bounds you still have idp.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Oklahoma St. - Texas Tech Lineman downfield
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2018, 05:57:48 PM »
did not see the play; however, by philosophy you will not have idp if the qb legally grounds the ball by throwing it out of bounce.  If the qb legally grounded it and the ball lands in bounds you still have idp.

In the play under discussion, the ball was thrown well out of bounds.  But, the philosophy permits the ball to be grounded inbounds, but near the sideline.  Grounding it legally from between somewhere around 3 yards inbounds on each sideline will leave Team A at risk for IDP.

Robert