Author Topic: OOPS!! 12 men during the play  (Read 2898 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online BoBo

  • *
  • Posts: 227
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
OOPS!! 12 men during the play
« on: October 28, 2018, 09:44:41 AM »
Team A gains a first down and rushing subs onto the field.

U and R miss the count in the chaos, the offensive play goes off.  U then gets his count again and realizes the offense played with 12 players.

How do we call or handle this?

It appears illegal participation is no longer in the rule book

?????

I think I found my answer, Rule 3-5-3c
« Last Edit: October 28, 2018, 09:48:17 AM by BoBo »

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: OOPS!! 12 men during the play
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2018, 12:48:28 PM »
Team A gains a first down and rushing subs onto the field.

U and R miss the count in the chaos, the offensive play goes off.  U then gets his count again and realizes the offense played with 12 players.

How do we call or handle this?

It appears illegal participation is no longer in the rule book

?????

I think I found my answer, Rule 3-5-3c

Yes, you found the answer.  And that rule is there just for that reason.
But, if they are sending in subs, you should be preventing the snap until B has had the opportunity to begin and complete their substitutions, if they desire.  That’s a minimum of three seconds after the last offensive sub gets into place.  And that is just to begin their substitutions.  Then they are given a reasonable amount of time to get their subs into position and replaced players off the field.  That should be more than ample time to get Team A counted.  Even if Team B chooses not to sub, if you wait until Team A has their players in the huddle or formation to begin the ”3-seconds to begin” count, the amount of time it takes for Team A to get all of their subs into position, and replaced players off the field before the 3-second count, PLUS the three seconds, should be plenty of time to get Team A counted.
We should strive to make this call before the snap.  But, with 3-5-3, yes, you can make this call during the down, or after the down is over, if needed.

Robert

Robert