Author Topic: Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet  (Read 5054 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Morningrise

  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • FAN REACTION: +25/-8
Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet
« on: October 31, 2018, 10:13:43 AM »
1. First and 10, under 1:00 in the half, no timeouts. A33 takes a handoff and runs for a touchdown. Replay shows his knee was down short of the line to gain. B99's helmet came off before the handoff.

2. Same as 1, but B99's helmet came off after A33 passed the line to gain.

3. Same as 1, but B99's helmet came off after A33 crossed the goal line.


If there is a runoff, can Team A decline it? And, what is the play clock status?

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2018, 10:38:00 AM »
1. First and 10, under 1:00 in the half, no timeouts. A33 takes a handoff and runs for a touchdown. Replay shows his knee was down short of the line to gain. B99's helmet came off before the handoff.

2. Same as 1, but B99's helmet came off after A33 passed the line to gain.

3. Same as 1, but B99's helmet came off after A33 crossed the goal line.


If there is a runoff, can Team A decline it? And, what is the play clock status?

I will assume B99 did not participate further during the down, although that has no effect on the 10-second subtraction rule.  I will also assume Team B does not take a team time-out.

1.  The 10-second subtraction rule applies, but Team A may decline the subtraction.  Play clock to 40.  Game clock on R's signal, if 10-second subtraction is accepted; on the snap if declined.  B99 may not participate in the next down.

2.  The 10-second subtraction rule applies, but Team A may decline the subtraction.  Play clock to 40.  Game clock on R's signal, if 10-second subtraction is accepted; on the snap if declined.  B99 may not participate in the next down.

3.  The 10-second subtraction rule applies, but Team A may decline the subtraction.  Play clock to 40.  Game clock on R's signal, if 10-second subtraction is accepted; on the snap if declined.  B99 may not participate in the next down.

All the same, because the result of the play is the same, due to Replay changing the ruling to down, short of the goal line.

Offline bmtjim

  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-4
Re: Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2018, 12:01:06 PM »
Would you not have a 10 second runoff by replay also in this scenario?  The clock went from a stopped clock by score to a running clock after replay reversed the play and team A did not make the LTG.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2018, 12:34:17 PM »
Would you not have a 10 second runoff by replay also in this scenario?  The clock went from a stopped clock by score to a running clock after replay reversed the play and team A did not make the LTG.

I said "short of the goal line, and I should have said short of the LTG."  No fouls involved, or anything else.  Just a BC down in the field of play, shot of the LTG, but a B player helmet off.  Clock stops, officially, for the helmet off, so 10-sec subtraction applies, if elected by Team A.  12-6-c doesn't apply, because the clock would have stopped for the helmet off, even if the BC didn't score or pass the LTG.

Robert

Offline Morningrise

  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • FAN REACTION: +25/-8
Re: Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2018, 05:02:02 PM »
12-6-c doesn't apply, because the clock would have stopped for the helmet off, even if the BC didn't score or pass the LTG.

Even if the helmet coming off happens after the down should have ended? What other clock-stoppers could you apply that to, then?

A33 takes a handoff and advances past the line to gain. (Replay shows his knee was down short of the line to gain.) Then:

a) B99's helmet comes off. A33 runs for a TD. This is one of my original situations, repeated here for comparison with the following ones.
b) A33 runs out of bounds.
c) A33 throws an illegal forward pass to A44, who advances for a TD.
d) Either team commits a holding foul beyond the LTG. A33 runs for a TD.

For a), you've said: "12-6-c doesn't apply, because the clock would have stopped for the helmet off, even if the BC didn't score or pass the LTG."

For b), clearly 12-6-c does apply. You wouldn't say 12-6-c doesn't apply since the clock would have stopped for the ball carrier going OOB even if the BC didn't score or pass the LTG.

Situation b) is definitely a replay runoff that A cannot decline. There was a clock-stopper (A33 going OOB) but it was part of action that got nullified by the IR reversal.

Situation c) is much like b): a clock-stopper (A33's live-ball foul) which was part of live-ball action that got nullified by the IR reversal. We're wiping out the IFP foul. It never would have happened to begin with. Is this not also a replay runoff situation, then?

Situation d) is much like c): a foul which was part of live-ball action that got nullified by the IR reversal. As a matter of policy, we wipe out such non-PF, non-USC fouls and don't enforce them. Are we still using the flag to override the replay runoff situation? If so, why not in c) as well?

And situation a) is much like situation d): a Team B event which was part of live-ball action that got nullified by the IR reversal. How come we don't wipe out the helmet clock-stopper, at least as far as the replay runoff rule is concerned? (I agree B99 should have to leave for a play.)

I think b) is the only obvious one of these. Is there an IR casebook play or a bulletin that addresses the other three?

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2278
  • FAN REACTION: +309/-29
Re: Replay runoff in conjunction with injury/helmet
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2018, 09:21:04 AM »
1. First and 10, under 1:00 in the half, no timeouts. A33 takes a handoff and runs for a touchdown. Replay shows his knee was down short of the line to gain. B99's helmet came off before the handoff.

2. Same as 1, but B99's helmet came off after A33 passed the line to gain.

3. Same as 1, but B99's helmet came off after A33 crossed the goal line.


If there is a runoff, can Team A decline it? And, what is the play clock status?

For the replay runoff, we have to ask ourself "if we officiated the play properly, would the clock have continued to run?".

1) There would be no runoff.  Had we got the call right and called him down, we would still stop the clock for the helmet off.

2 and 3 are a bit trickier and I'm not sure what the answer is. I would imagine we would apply the runoff in these cases since if we officiated the play properly, we would keep the clock running.