Author Topic: Free Kick TD for K  (Read 4599 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Suudy

  • *
  • Posts: 62
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Free Kick TD for K
« on: November 18, 2018, 12:13:05 PM »
In the WSU/Arizona game last night, there was an unusual play.

https://youtu.be/RL2rRPBvh6g?t=86

Now, as an NFHS guy, we are taught a kick is a kick until it is no longer a kick (e.g. possessed or dead by rule).  So, a kick that crosses the GL is a touchback.  Now, I know the NCAA has an exception for a kick in flight that is caught in the EZ can be returned.  But I thought a grounded kick that crosses the GL is always a TB.

What is different about this play?  It was first touched by K.  Why was this a TD and not a TB?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Free Kick TD for K
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2018, 12:38:33 PM »
NCAA rules - legally touched by team a, then touched by Team B before EZ, recovered in EZ by A.   T D

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Free Kick TD for K
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2018, 12:39:20 PM »
In the WSU/Arizona game last night, there was an unusual play.

https://youtu.be/RL2rRPBvh6g?t=86

Now, as an NFHS guy, we are taught a kick is a kick until it is no longer a kick (e.g. possessed or dead by rule).  So, a kick that crosses the GL is a touchback.  Now, I know the NCAA has an exception for a kick in flight that is caught in the EZ can be returned.  But I thought a grounded kick that crosses the GL is always a TB.

What is different about this play?  It was first touched by K.  Why was this a TD and not a TB?

Since this was a free kick, touching of the ball by the kicking team beyond Team B’s restraining line is legal.  The ball was then touched by the receiving team, before it touched the ground in the end zone, so the ball remains alive and in play.  Thus, when the kicking team secured the ball, that’s a touchdown.

Had this been a scrimmage kick, and the receiving team had not touched the ball before the kicking team touched it, that would have been illegal touching by the kicking team, so Team B would have invoked the illegal touching privilege, and taken the ball at the most advantageous spot of illegal touching.

Robert

Offline Suudy

  • *
  • Posts: 62
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Free Kick TD for K
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2018, 01:20:12 PM »
Ah!  Thanks for the clarification.

Offline Suudy

  • *
  • Posts: 62
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Free Kick TD for K
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2018, 11:31:09 PM »
Since this was a free kick, touching of the ball by the kicking team beyond Team B’s restraining line is legal.  The ball was then touched by the receiving team, before it touched the ground in the end zone, so the ball remains alive and in play.  Thus, when the kicking team secured the ball, that’s a touchdown.
One question that came up in discussion.

Had R not touched the ball, it would have been a touchback?

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Free Kick TD for K
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2018, 03:14:59 AM »
One question that came up in discussion.

Had R not touched the ball, it would have been a touchback?

When it touches the ground in team B's end zone, yes.