Author Topic: Defensive Holding and Passes  (Read 2967 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Defensive Holding and Passes
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 09:22:56 PM »
Foul behind the line and got an automatic first down. hEaDbAnG

Offline ajv

  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: Defensive Holding and Passes
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2019, 01:59:59 PM »
I thought I recognised it - that was the first "eh?" in the chat room this season. TXMike, I hope you're planning to get us video of all of rest of 'em! :)

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Defensive Holding and Passes
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2019, 03:51:44 PM »
The "grab" was there, and it was on an eligible receiver.  However, as pointed out, the foul was well behind the NZ, thus not qualifying for an automatic first down.  If I were the coordinator for this crew, I would have preferred that the covering official hold on throwing the flag an extra second, and see if the passer ever looked at the guy that got held.  He did not, and the pass was nowhere near where the fouled player was (although he WAS in the same "third" of the field).  I would have preferred that this call get "passed."  Being "3 & 1" enforcement, the penalty should have been enforced at the end of the run (not the previous spot), regardless if on an eligible receiver or not.  But, NOT a first down, if the foul was behind the NZ.  10 yards from the end of the run would have given them a first down. So, the difference was really only the amount yards Team A gained (3-4), that they lost by penalizing at the previous spot. Nothing to ignore, but not as game-changing as it may have seemed.  But, the crew needs some "re-training."

Robert
----------------------------
Looks like I need some re-training.  Yes, this foul is a "3 & 1" enforcement, but the basic spot on pass plays is the previous spot.  So, penalizing at the previous spot was correct, regardless of where the foul occurred.  But, since it wasn't beyond the NZ, it doesn't carry the automatic first down.  But I think they should have passed on this call.

Where I got confused was that the penalty language changed between 2012 and 2017 (actually happened in 2014 and 2015).  The specific language of the previous spot was removed, which then defaults to the 3&1.  But, by the 3&1, the previous spot is the basic spot, and B fouls get enforced at the basic spot. So, that's still correct.
Still catching up a little. Still trying to get better.

Robert

« Last Edit: January 22, 2019, 08:32:40 PM by ElvisLives »