Author Topic: Actions By Snapper - Swinging Gate  (Read 3103 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mccormicw

  • *
  • Posts: 295
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
Actions By Snapper - Swinging Gate
« on: September 09, 2011, 07:55:29 AM »
Team A is in a swinging gate formation.  All 11 players are set.  The snapper has his hands on his thighs just above the knees.  In one (nonstop) motion the snapper reaches for the ball, grabs the ball and snaps it to the back behind the linemen about 10 yards to the snappers left.  There was no pause between the snappers hands leaving his thighs and snapping the ball.  Is this a false start?  We called it a false start because of the snapper making a quick movement prior to the snap.  The next time that team lined up in this formation, the defense jumped when the snapper made his movement to the ball.  This time, the snapper paused before snapping the ball.   Defense got back in time.  We didnt call anything.  Thoughts?

El Macman

  • Guest
Re: Actions By Snapper - Swinging Gate
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 08:34:43 AM »
Not really a false start, but illegal motion. After the team has met the requirement of being set for one full second, no lineman may be moving when the snap begins. They may start moving as the snap begins, but they can't already be moving as the snap begins, including the snapper, as in this case. Assuming no other A player is moving, the snapper could have dropped down to address the ball, stopped - one second NOT required - just stopped - then he could begin the snap.
In this case, since the entire team had set for a second, the new false start rule does not apply. This is illegal motion.