Author Topic: is snapper ever an eligible receiver  (Read 14779 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

haywood

  • Guest
is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« on: September 21, 2011, 11:19:29 PM »
can the snapper be an end
lets say he is the only A player 1-49 or 80-99
and the wr51 is off the line

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 12:12:18 AM »
Yes.  You see this normally on "swinging gate" formations on the Try.  He has an eligible number and is on the end of the line makes him an eligible receiver.

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 07:32:37 AM »
Agree: this is one reason that under NFHS rules he's referred to as a 'snapper' and not a 'center'. Provided he's eligible at the snap by both position and number, he's an eligible receiver throughout the down.

haywood

  • Guest
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2011, 12:19:09 PM »
 The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).

what's this mean
if the snappers between the end he's not the end
i'm confused look'n for clarity
rule 7 states
ART. 5 . . . Player formation and numbering requirements include:

EXCEPTIONS:

1. On first, second or third down, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation as in 2-14-2a, the snapper may be a player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99. If Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shall have at least four players wearing numbers 50 to 79 on its line of scrimmage. The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).

2. On fourth down or during a kick try, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation, any A player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99 may take the position of any A player numbered 50 to 79. A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2011, 12:29:54 PM »
The snapper does not have to be in the game under the numbering exception if A has 5 other players on the line wearing ineligible numbers. In that case, the snapper may be on the end of the line.

Offline ckref

  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-1
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2011, 09:05:05 PM »
The wording above is what was written to close the loophole that allowed the A-11 offense.

In the definitions, 2-14-2 describes the two possible scrimmage kick formations.
(a) for a FG or kick try formation
(b) for a punt formation

Then rule 7-2-5b gives the numbering rule (5 linemen 50-79) with the allowed exceptions:
1. only for the snapper on 1st, 2nd or 3rd down and only in the 2-14-2a (field goal) formation.
2. on 4th down or during a kick try - either type of scrimmage kick formation - any number of eligible numbered players can replace any 50-79, but remain ineligible even if a shift puts them on the end of the line at the snap.

Exception 2 would be when the snapper could be eligible by position and number.
Or as said above when there are 5 linemen 50-79 so that the snapper is not an exception to the numbering rule and is on the end of the line with an eligible number at the snap.

The other consideration is the snapper getting protection when in scrimmage kick formation that complies with 2-14-2a or b.  In the swinging gate, if holder isn't down and kicker in position, no protection as provided by 9-4-6

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 3491
  • FAN REACTION: +133/-24
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2011, 06:04:13 AM »
Quote
what was written to close the loophole that allowed the A-11 offense.

 >:( It is correct to say "the offense that shall not be named".

And I'm not sure that russell is ready to digest that just yet.

Grant - AR

  • Guest
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2011, 04:04:06 PM »
>:( It is correct to say "the offense that shall not be named".

And I'm not sure that russell is ready to digest that just yet.

We could create a filter that automatically changes "A-11" to "the offense that shall not be named."  Would that work?   :D

Offline ckref

  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-1
Re: is snapper ever an eligible receiver
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2011, 08:45:32 PM »
Ooops, saw that terminology on another thread after posting on this one.