Author Topic: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)  (Read 5560 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« on: October 07, 2011, 05:01:38 AM »
...uhhhhhh...I don't think so men.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BvSEf06Nmw

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2011, 05:15:44 AM »
Looks like he had possession at about the eight or nine yard line so yes, they gave team A a couple of yards. Fortunately team A didn't carry the ball across the goal line...

Offline fencewire

  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • FAN REACTION: +20/-74
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2011, 05:32:26 AM »
Odds they would have  ^good, very high.....

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2011, 05:37:15 AM »
I think the L bailed out the B (somewhat).  He seemed to know it could not be advanced and had a spot further upfield than where the B went to.  He may not have the exact spot but since he was running from the line of scrimmage to get down there, it is understandable

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2011, 08:20:18 AM »
Interesting - he's got possession at the 9, runs to about the three, and the ball gets spotted at the 6.  As Mike notes, the B gets bailed out a bit half-way, so someone on the crew knew the advance can't happen, but how can the B not know that a kick can't be advanced by team A?  That's a basic rule.

Also, with our mechanics, we always bag the spot of any possession (A or B) at the end of a scrimmage kick as it could be an enforcement spot or the subsequent spot.  If the B had done that, we would have the correct spot.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2011, 10:11:18 AM »
I don't know if the B had a brain fart here or didn't know the rule but unfortunately I've run into too many varsity officials that don't realize A can't advance a kick.

Offline TxSkyBolt

  • *
  • Posts: 2007
  • FAN REACTION: +45/-46
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2011, 10:13:09 AM »
I know for myself in those situations, even though I know the rule, I always hesitate a few counts to make sure it's still a kick and not a fumble.  I still get it shut down fairly quickly and always have the spot of recovery in mind. 

Best regards,

Brad

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2011, 10:15:15 AM »
SAT - Why would an umpire be down there covering this????   >:D

Offline TxSkyBolt

  • *
  • Posts: 2007
  • FAN REACTION: +45/-46
Re: Punt Recovered and Advanced by Team A (video)
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2011, 10:33:07 AM »
the most recent instance was a poor punt that almost took my head off.  It was a line drive, low that hit an A lineman and landed just behind me and bounced off a B player. A picked up the muff and proceeded to run for the EZ.  (I am about 10 yards back on punts).

Best regards,

Brad