Author Topic: Blocked into kick  (Read 3424 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline golfingref

  • *
  • Posts: 288
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-6
Blocked into kick
« on: October 08, 2011, 07:59:59 PM »
Is there a difference between being R being blocked into the grounded kick and an R player blocking and the ball hitting him? Seems like a judgment call, but wasn't sure if NCAA rules differentiated between the 2 scenarios. Question after watching a punt at the end of the 1st half in the Auburn / Arkansas game.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Blocked into kick
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2011, 09:14:02 PM »
This one has got to be strictly a judgment call, and the covering officials made it immediately and without hesitation.  Also, no question that the B player that the ball touched was engaged legally blocking an A player.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

chymechowder

  • Guest
Re: Blocked into kick
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2011, 09:35:28 PM »
Yep. there's a new AR in blue that speaks to that.  6-3-4-IV

If a B player is engaged in a block with an A player, and the ball hits the B player, this is not forced touching.  the way i've heard it described is if two guys are "standing straight up blocking each other" and the ball happens to hit one of them, there is no forced touching, because the block(s) weren't responsible for the contact with the ball.

it really has to be one guy pushing another guy into the ball.

Offline golfingref

  • *
  • Posts: 288
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-6
Re: Blocked into kick
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2011, 09:48:36 PM »
It appeared that neither player had any idea where the ball was. Head coach was told the play was not reviewable.