Author Topic: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish  (Read 11449 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bob M.

  • *
  • Posts: 1055
  • FAN REACTION: +98/-20
10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« on: October 08, 2011, 06:29:18 PM »
If anyone can get a video of the last play of the game (in OT) and post...it would be appreciated

JMU scored a TD and kicked a one-point try in the first OT series. U of Maine then scored a TD to pull within one point. On the try, they lined up in a "swinging gate" formation with a WR to the right of the snapper, and everyone else over to the left. The snapper was set up with his hand on the ball and his shoulders perpendicular to the line of scrimmage. He snapped the ball from that position across the front of his body to the 'holder,' like you used to do in touch FB games. The holder ran it in for a two-point conversion and the win. Did I miss something, or isn't the snapper required to take the position of a legal lineman, i.e with shoulder approx parallel to the line. If I'm correct, they missed an illegal formation that meant the game.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2011, 08:08:29 PM by Bob M. »
Bob M.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2011, 09:17:37 PM »
See this thread from last week:

http://www.refstripes.com/forum/index.php?topic=8465.0

If he actually snapped the ball with his shoulders 90 deg to the LOS, it should have drawn a flag.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2011, 01:14:52 PM »
ESPN is showing this play as one of their "Top Ten" for the week.  Take a look and make your own judgment.  I saw it once just now.  Maybe TxMike can capture the video and post it.  I'll admit that I don't have a clue on how to do that.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2011, 01:26:49 PM »
It's at the end of this clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwHDsKb1_YM

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2011, 01:40:14 PM »
Hmmmm Snap Infraction?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2011, 02:48:40 PM »
Illegal formation for sure.  We sure never did anything like that when I was a Black Bear.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2011, 03:43:38 PM by TXMike »

chymechowder

  • Guest
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2011, 03:32:33 PM »
can't get the link to work   :(

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2011, 03:58:41 PM »
Here's a screen capture just as the snap goes off.  Snapper never moved from a 90 Deg position and snapped the ball.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: October 10, 2011, 04:01:39 PM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline justaLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2011, 09:27:14 AM »
To stir the pot a little bit, what advantage was gained by the snapper being in the position he was in at the snap?

Whether an ILF could be called or should be called are two separate things.

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2011, 09:31:26 AM »
To stir the pot a little bit, what advantage was gained by the snapper being in the position he was in at the snap?

Speaking as a former center and long snapper, it's easier to snap the ball from that position then having to turn your shoulders while you snap it.

Isn't there a general college philosophy that trick formations and plays should adhere strictly to the letter of the rule?

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2011, 09:46:18 AM »
This by rule is a formation foul - no advantage/disadvantage is applicable for a formation foul.  Should have been a flag.  If advantage/disadvantage were applicable, one advantage gained by team A would be that team B could expect that team A cannot snap the ball legally with the snapper in that position.

Also, the following statement has been in almost every NCAA Officiating Philosophies document that's been posted here over the last 5-6 years (and probably earlier than that):

Formations during the execution of a trick or unusual play have the highest degree of scrutiny and should be completely legal.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2011, 04:44:42 PM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

ret66482

  • Guest
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2011, 03:31:14 PM »
I agree with NVFOA_Ump's last post of "no advantage/disadvantage is applicable for a formation foul".  I also like the NCAA Officiating Philosophies statement. 

gfd406

  • Guest
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2011, 07:06:34 AM »
I am trying to find in the rule book that says this is illegal.... anyone have the rule number?

Offline Andrew McCarthy

  • *
  • Posts: 1010
  • FAN REACTION: +21/-6
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2011, 07:23:14 AM »
7-1-4-a-2

2-27-4-a-2

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2011, 08:21:38 AM »
7-1-4-a-2:  All players must be either linemen or backs (Rule 2-27-4).

2-27-4-a-2:  A Team A player is on his scrimmage line when he faces his opponent’s goal line with the line of his shoulders approximately parallel thereto and either (a) he is the snapper (Rule 2-27-8) or (b) his head breaks the plane of the line drawn through the waistline of the snapper.

We've previously discussed the "parallel thereto" to allow +/- 30 deg leeway based on several clarifying rules memos.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

gfd406

  • Guest
Re: 10/8 - James Madison vs. U of Maine finish
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2011, 10:25:52 AM »
Thanks!