Author Topic: Safety or touchback?  (Read 4092 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

familyman

  • Guest
Safety or touchback?
« on: October 27, 2011, 09:22:55 PM »
Had this play where team quarterback A16 fumbles the ball on his own 8 yard line.  A's halfback tries to recover the ball forces the ball forward away from A's 8 yard line, where R trying to recover the rolling ball forces it into A's end zone where A recovers. We ruled a touchback, after getting together as a crew, because of R's force.  Was this the right call?   

Offline golfingref

  • *
  • Posts: 288
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-6
Re: Safety or touchback?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2011, 10:37:14 PM »
From 2-13-1. After a fumble has been grounded, a new force (energy exerted by a player which provides movement of the ball) may result from a bat, illegal kick, or muff. Sounds like you and the crew got it right.

hoochycoochy

  • Guest
Re: Safety or touchback?
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2011, 11:02:45 PM »
Sounds like you got the call right but your usage of A and R is kinda mixed up.  A would be correct for this play but R designates the receiving team when there's a free or scrimmage kick play.  B would be the team who forced the ball into A's EZ. 

Offline TampaSteve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • FAN REACTION: +24/-13
Re: Safety or touchback?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2011, 07:23:06 AM »
Yep. TB.