Author Topic: OPI, with 2 changes of possession  (Read 1201 times)

Amberbill77

  • Guest
OPI, with 2 changes of possession
« on: September 06, 2013, 11:17:58 PM »
Team A has the ball 2 and 10 on its own 40 yard line. during a loose ball play, team A commits pass interference.  Immediately there after, B intercepts the pass and starts to return the ball down field to team A's 20 yard line where B fumbles and A recovers the fumble and is downed at A's 25 year line.  Question is, how would you rule?  Penalty? Whos ball? Where? Any penalty enforcement?  Rule reference? 

Thanks

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: OPI, with 2 changes of possession
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2013, 12:00:24 AM »
If Team B accepts the penalty, it's 2nd and 25 on A's 25 yard line.

If Team B declines the penalty, it's 1st and 10 from A's 25 yard line.

Under no circumstance is B going to keep the ball.

Offline maven

  • *
  • Posts: 620
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: OPI, with 2 changes of possession
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2013, 07:40:11 AM »
Don't let the COP's throw you off: B was fouled and has the usual options, which FBUmp has provided. They can take the penalty (15 yards, previous spot, replay the down), or decline it (result of the play, and both COP's).
Quality is not an act, it is a habit.
Aristotle

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2574
  • FAN REACTION: +317/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: OPI, with 2 changes of possession
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2013, 10:49:16 AM »
Dueling COPs have the same end result = Did the team that ended up with the ball get it with "clean hands"? = nope :(. Can they keep the ball? = not there. Unless this was the last play of the half or game, it's an easy choice for B. Just explain to B that because they, too, turned the ball over that they can't keep but that they will get a 15 yarder tacked onto A.