Author Topic: "Goaltending"  (Read 10938 times)

Offline AlUpstateNY

  • *
  • Posts: 3437
  • FAN REACTION: +260/-501
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2014, 08:44:01 AM »
The issue is if it's touched by R, not K.  Can R jump up and block a FG attempt at the crossbar?

Apologies for confusing  R and K, answer to your question; Yes (some divine assistance appreciated)

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2691
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2014, 09:17:37 AM »
Thursday Trivia Teaser.....  At R's 10 ,Hans, the placekicker, kicks (1) a "pop up" on a short FG attempt; (1a) "Springs", Hans' teammate and allstate volleyball player, races to R's 3 and bats the ungrounded kick thru the pipes. ..or... (2) a "low liner" on a short FG attempt; (2a) ungrounded kick strikes Bubba - the snapper @ the LOS - in his butt region; (2b) kick then sails thru the pipes. ...Things to ponder : Is Bubba guilty of the seldom called butt blocking ????....Should the Prom Queen date either Hans or Springs ??? ?...Would Bubba get credit for the FG if the kick is ruled good ??? or would he only get an assist ??? or is that only in other sports ??? ????
« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 09:47:16 AM by Ralph Damren »

Offline bkdow

  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-3
  • Striving for the impossible level of perfection
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #27 on: July 31, 2014, 11:08:22 AM »
Thursday Trivia Teaser.....  At R's 10 ,Hans, the placekicker, kicks (1) a "pop up" on a short FG attempt; (1a) "Springs", Hans' teammate and allstate volleyball player, races to R's 3 and bats the ungrounded kick thru the pipes. ..or... (2) a "low liner" on a short FG attempt; (2a) ungrounded kick strikes Bubba - the snapper @ the LOS - in his butt region; (2b) kick then sails thru the pipes. ...Things to ponder : Is Bubba guilty of the seldom called butt blocking ????....Should the Prom Queen date either Hans or Springs ??? ?...Would Bubba get credit for the FG if the kick is ruled good ??? or would he only get an assist ??? or is that only in other sports ??? ????
OK:  I'll bite on this.  1.  Illegal Batting on the 3 yard line as he may only bat the ball back toward his own goalline.  The penalty is enforced from the 20 yard line because the play ended in a touchback.  It would be R's ball 1-10 on the 35 yard line.

2. The "Butt Blocking" is ignored because it occurred in the or behind the expanded neutral zone.  Bubba's touching is ignored so not credit or assist is awarded officially but he would still be the hero and should get a date with someone in the court.  Hans and Springs will be sitting alone sipping bad punch in the corner of the gym watching others dance.
"Don't let perfection get in the way of really good." John Lucivansky

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2219
  • FAN REACTION: +81/-12
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2014, 12:08:20 PM »
OK:  I'll bite on this.  1.  Illegal Batting on the 3 yard line as he may only bat the ball back toward his own goalline.  The penalty is enforced from the 20 yard line because the play ended in a touchback.  It would be R's ball 1-10 on the 35 yard line.

bkdow - two things to think about:

A) The foul for the illegal bat happens during a loose ball play, does it not?  What's the basic spot for a foul during a loose ball play?
B) What's the status of the ball after the bat?  Has the kick ended yet?  Is this still a scrimmage kick than can score points?

I'm coming up with two choices for R:

1 - Decline the foul for illegal batting.  Since the ball is still loose as a kick, the result of the play is a kick going through the uprights over the crossbar, resulting in a field goal.  Since that's the case, R is not going to decline this foul, meaning we look at door number 2...

2 - Accept the foul for the illegal bat, which occurs during a loose ball play, meaning it's enforced from the previous spot.  March them back 15, and replay the down.  Not only does Springs not get a date with a member of the homecoming court, but he might well find himself running the steps or doing a crab walk across the field the next day.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 12:19:45 PM by VALJ »

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2014, 12:29:33 PM »
Hans and Springs will be sitting alone sipping bad punch in the corner of the gym watching others dance.
Kickers NEVER sit alone and drink bad punch.  Chicks dig kickers.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2691
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #30 on: July 31, 2014, 12:36:47 PM »
Good try guys, but read Rule 8-4-1b and remember what a respected coach from the state with red clay once said : "A field goal is like a punt that can score". Chicks dig kickers with foreign accents.

Offline Tom.OH

  • *
  • Posts: 345
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-0
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #31 on: July 31, 2014, 12:40:49 PM »
Kickers NEVER sit alone and drink bad punch.  Chicks dig kickers.

At least that's what AB tells his kickers! ;D
"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. And inside of a dog, it's to dark to read."
Groucho Marx

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2244
  • FAN REACTION: +65/-13
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #32 on: July 31, 2014, 01:22:42 PM »
Quote
I sip my lobster flavored coca

Uh Ralph, Crockett & Tubbs of Northwoods Law are gonna be paying you a little visit. P_S

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2691
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #33 on: July 31, 2014, 01:45:12 PM »
 ^no Sorry,guys, time's up ^flag! While there's a flag for an illegal bat, the kick remains a kick and the result of the play is a touchback. Per 8-4-1b, it is now a kick that CANNOT score. R's best choice is to decline the foul and take the touchback then to give K another play. In Bubba's butt block, the kick would be good BUT if Bubba had waddled downfield and this occurred, 8-4-1b would apply with no foul. HL in NC - up here they are known as Forest Rangers (not to be confused with Texas Rangers). Their most swashbuckling activity is ending a rabid skunk. They are sorta' like the side judge on a 7 man crew during a PAT kick----with nothing to do. :)

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2219
  • FAN REACTION: +81/-12
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #34 on: July 31, 2014, 01:58:58 PM »
^no Sorry,guys, time's up ^flag! While there's a flag for an illegal bat, the kick remains a kick and the result of the play is a touchback. Per 8-4-1b, it is now a kick that CANNOT score. R's best choice is to decline the foul and take the touchback then to give K another play.

Dang it, that's what I had originally, and then I got lost with the touching of the kick changing it so that the kick couldn't score.  Shucks.

And Hans and Springs won't be sitting alone.  They'll have each other to commiserate with, while the homecoming queen is hanging out with the quarterback.

Offline bkdow

  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-3
  • Striving for the impossible level of perfection
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #35 on: July 31, 2014, 03:11:07 PM »
But wait, if the new rule says than an illegal bat does not change the original force and the original force was the kick, would it not be a touchback?  The Basic Spot for penalty enforcement on kicking plays that end in a touchback is the succeeding spot, so wouldn't it make R's ball on the 35 yardline after the 15 yard penalty is enforced?  (I can't get into Aribitor at this point)
"Don't let perfection get in the way of really good." John Lucivansky

Offline bkdow

  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-3
  • Striving for the impossible level of perfection
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #36 on: July 31, 2014, 03:17:30 PM »
 tiphat:
« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 03:53:16 PM by bkdow »
"Don't let perfection get in the way of really good." John Lucivansky

Offline bkdow

  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-3
  • Striving for the impossible level of perfection
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #37 on: July 31, 2014, 03:52:37 PM »
I withdraw my comments... :bOW
"Don't let perfection get in the way of really good." John Lucivansky

Offline ECILLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-2
  • Have fun & give 'em your best!
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #38 on: August 05, 2014, 11:31:36 AM »
Thursday Trivia Teaser.....  At R's 10 ,Hans, the placekicker, kicks (1) a "pop up" on a short FG attempt; (1a) "Springs", Hans' teammate and allstate volleyball player, races to R's 3 and bats the ungrounded kick thru the pipes. 

Why illegal batting and not kick catching interference?

Offline bkdow

  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-3
  • Striving for the impossible level of perfection
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #39 on: August 05, 2014, 11:35:29 AM »
Someone has to be in position to field it for there to be KCI.  The assumption, since Ralph didn't mention someone being in position, is that there is no one in position.
"Don't let perfection get in the way of really good." John Lucivansky

Offline ECILLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-2
  • Have fun & give 'em your best!
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #40 on: August 05, 2014, 11:55:38 AM »
Someone has to be in position to field it for there to be KCI.  The assumption, since Ralph didn't mention someone being in position, is that there is no one in position.

Understood that the covering official would need to have all the information before making this call.

My assumption is a pop up kick that only carries seven yards and is kicked high enough for a K player to get under will probably also draw a crowd from R. The kick is being batted only five yards from the free blocking zone. KCI seems like the better call if any R players are near the play.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2691
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: "Goaltending"
« Reply #41 on: August 05, 2014, 12:18:04 PM »
If a R receiver was in position it would be KCI , probably on a short FG attempt all R would be trying to block the kick. If KCI was called, it probably would be declined as the penalty would only bring the ball out to R's 18 where taking the play would bring the ball to the 20.