Author Topic: Illegal Touching in A's end zone  (Read 1889 times)

Offline ada152

  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Illegal Touching in A's end zone
« on: August 14, 2015, 09:24:26 AM »
On fourth and 7, Team A snaps from their six yard line. There is heavy rush and A10 runs into the end zone. He releases a low pass which is caught by a retreating offensive lineman A73 in the end zone.
A73 is tackled in the end zone.

Could 'B' have the option of only taking the LOD aspect of the penalty and getting the ball at 'A's' 6 instead of taking the safety?

This is not an Illegal Forward Pass so I am thinking they might should get this option.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: Illegal Touching in A's end zone
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2015, 09:50:27 AM »
Could 'B' have the option of only taking the LOD aspect of the penalty and getting the ball at 'A's' 6 instead of taking the safety?
Nope.

Accept the penalty = safety
Decline the penalty = safety

If they decline the yardage portion of the penalty, the result of the play is A73 tackled in the end zone.  Loss of down doesn't mean the down is ignored, it actually means "loss of the right to play the next down".


Had the defense been really quick thinking, they could have let A73 get out of the end zone and declined the penalty, and taken over on downs.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2015, 09:53:34 AM by Atlanta Blue »

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1238
  • FAN REACTION: +29/-44
Re: Illegal Touching in A's end zone
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2015, 11:09:33 AM »
On fourth and 7, Team A snaps from their six yard line. There is heavy rush and A10 runs into the end zone. He releases a low pass which is caught by a retreating offensive lineman A73 in the end zone.
A73 is tackled in the end zone.

Could 'B' have the option of only taking the LOD aspect of the penalty and getting the ball at 'A's' 6 instead of taking the safety?

This is not an Illegal Forward Pass so I am thinking they might should get this option.

Choices: accept the penalty as AB says or the result of the play which, in either case, is a safety.

Had the defense been really quick thinking, they could have let A73 get out of the end zone and declined the penalty, and taken over on downs.
[/quote

AB, I'm sure you'll have this scenario on the next team meeting agenda yEs:  :bOW

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2232
  • FAN REACTION: +81/-12
Re: Illegal Touching in A's end zone
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2015, 01:06:58 PM »
If a foul that comes with an LOD is accepted, even if the yardage is declined, the LOD can not be.  B can accept the result of the play, or accept the foul and have the LOD enforced.

As AB and Curious have noted, whether the foul is accepted or declined, the play ends in the end zone, so a safety will result either way.