Author Topic: Catch/No Catch  (Read 1670 times)

Offline BG5

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Catch/No Catch
« on: September 09, 2016, 01:17:02 PM »
Gents,

Have a question regarding catch/no catch.

Does federation rules follow NFL in the following situations?????

Knee in bounds = foot and catch would be good?????

Elbow in bounds = foot and catch would be good?????

What about shoulder?  Hip?

Any other information would be helpful.

Thanks!

I

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2200
  • FAN REACTION: +79/-12
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2016, 01:22:09 PM »
Perhaps 2-4-1 will help here:

A catch is the act of establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, and first contacting the ground inbounds while maintaining possession of the ball or having the forward progress of the player in possession stopped while the opponent is carrying the player who is in possession and inbounds.

To answer your question with a question: did the player contact the ground in bounds, and did he maintain possession of the ball?  If so, all of those you ask would be catches.  If his first contact is out of bounds, or he does not maintain possession, no catch.

Keeping in mind that the Fed doesn't define "maintaining possession of the ball" during a catch... that's what we get the big bucks for.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2016, 01:40:49 PM »
NFL requires two feet, FED and NCAA require one.  All other body parts are equal between the codes.

Offline BG5

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2016, 09:29:34 PM »
Thank you as this was very helpful.  Just to be clear the player must survive the ground and finish the catch correct? 

Offline Rulesman

  • The Keeper of the Keys
  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +327/-243
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2016, 02:14:58 PM »
Define "finish the catch." Are you saying this to mean "maintaining possession of the ball...?"
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline BG5

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2016, 02:03:08 AM »
Yes, I mean maintain possession of the ball after going to the ground.  An example is on a TD pass to corner of end zone and wr clearly catches while make diving catch but after hitting the ground the ball comes out.  Does he need to finish play and maintain possession throughout the entire play?  Thank you for your help.

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2016, 07:20:40 AM »
Fed rule do not define "the process of the catch" like you hear on TV. The receiver must have possession and then touch the ground inbounds.

If the first physical contact to the receiver's arms (where he is contacting the ball) causes the ball to become loose, it is not a hard argument to sell that he did not have possession and therefore it is no catch. However, you are ruling that the receiver never had possession, not that he did not "finish the catch".

Offline Rulesman

  • The Keeper of the Keys
  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +327/-243
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2016, 07:24:29 AM »
Fed rule do not define "the process of the catch" like you hear on TV. The receiver must have possession and then touch the ground inbounds.

If the first physical contact to the receiver's arms (where he is contacting the ball) causes the ball to become loose, it is not a hard argument to sell that he did not have possession and therefore it is no catch. However, you are ruling that the receiver never had possession, not that he did not "finish the catch".
What he said.
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline AlUpstateNY

  • *
  • Posts: 3381
  • FAN REACTION: +257/-493
Re: Catch/No Catch
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2016, 10:15:54 AM »
NFHS rules are sometimes different DELIBERATELY, than other levels (usually for good reason).  The answer to the common argument, "Would you call a play at the 50 yard line the same as in the EZ" is "YES" if you're focused on satisfying the basic NFHS requirements of possession and "first touching the ground inbounds while maintaining possession".

TD and "complete, then fumble" should satisfy the same criteria, at least until someone can rationally define "the process of the catch", so that it's understood consistently and accepted by the NFHS code.