Author Topic: How did this triple play happen?  (Read 461 times)

Offline BrendanP

  • *
  • Posts: 284
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-223
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
How did this triple play happen?
« on: November 03, 2016, 08:11:35 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5wYb1SXxLg&t=4m36s

How is at least the guy at first out when he's standing on the base?
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 08:13:48 AM by BrendanP »

Offline Rulesman

  • The Keeper of the Keys
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3533
  • FAN REACTION: +239/-175
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: How did this triple play happen?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2016, 08:45:04 AM »
Assume you are talking about the first play on the video.

The shoestring catch was out #1, the throw to second was out #2 (there was a runner who advanced to 3rd from 2nd - left 2nd on the crack of the bat). The runner on 2nd was originally on first. Triple play.

"Who's on First?"
"I don't know"
"Third base"
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline ALStripes17

  • *
  • Posts: 224
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-11
  • Be invisible
Re: How did this triple play happen?
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2016, 11:35:48 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5wYb1SXxLg&t=4m36s

How is at least the guy at first out when he's standing on the base?
First video, R1 and R2 with no outs.

The ball hit to SS hits the ground, so SS runs and tags R2 (who is forced) for out 1, SS steps on 2B for force on R1, and SS throws to 1B for out 3 (throw beats the batter-runner.

Any follow up question?

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

"I'm not concerned with your liking or disliking me - all I ask is that you respect me as a human being"

-Unknown-

Offline BrendanP

  • *
  • Posts: 284
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-223
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: How did this triple play happen?
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2016, 01:50:00 PM »
lol exactly, "Who's on first?" I wasn't just confused as to how you could throw someone out while they're standing on the bag. You could see the WAS first base coach was just as confused. I don't know if there's an issue with the time stamp, but here's an isolated clip of the play in question: https://youtube.com/watch?v=N5bYmCQZQnM
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 01:52:49 PM by BrendanP »

Offline Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 455
  • FAN REACTION: +37/-8
Re: How did this triple play happen?
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2016, 01:57:39 PM »
The player standing on first was the batter-runner. The offense was confused because they didn't know if it had been ruled a catch or not.