Author Topic: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.  (Read 1420 times)

Offline Aussie-Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 507
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
  • Australian Gridiron Officials Association
    • Gridironwest
For every coach that thinks we got it wrong there's another that thinks we got it right.

Offline Etref

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 1651
  • FAN REACTION: +53/-22
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 08:00:13 PM »
 ^flag
Definitely affects play
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 593
  • FAN REACTION: +13/-9
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 08:41:09 PM »
No. I cant put anything he does into a holding bucket. He gets blown off the LOS and doesn't do anything to change the direction of the defender. Defender is trying to go straight back, that's where he goes.

Shouldnt the R be intially positioned on the End Line, too?

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1094
  • FAN REACTION: +51/-19
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2017, 08:00:02 AM »
Definitely No foul.

When officiating holding, first determine who has better feet.  We don't really care where/how he is "grabbed".   We call holding, not grabbing.  In this play, the defender takes himself out of the play by going inside.  A68 just walls him off.  There is no material restriction whatsoever on the B player.  B player did not "beat the feet" of A68.  A68 just took him where he wants to go.

This official probably saw "hands outside" and called holding.

Offline TxSkyBolt

  • *
  • Posts: 1813
  • FAN REACTION: +35/-45
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2017, 08:47:42 AM »
No foul for OH. Offensive lineman kept good position and was never beat.

Offline BankerRef

  • *
  • Posts: 205
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-3
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2017, 05:51:15 PM »
No foul.  You won't make a long career calling those, especially in the end zone.

Offline BankerRef

  • *
  • Posts: 205
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-3
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2017, 05:59:16 PM »
Shouldnt the R be intially positioned on the End Line, too?

R should be on the end line at the snap.  Looks like a TASO game and I'm not sure about mechanics for the LOS guys in those games but my guess is someone should be taking a step to the goal line at the snap also.

Offline BrendanP

  • *
  • Posts: 293
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-233
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2017, 05:42:17 PM »
I'd pass on that one.

Offline Sonofanump

  • *
  • Posts: 220
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-3
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2017, 10:20:10 PM »
B player did not "beat the feet" of A68. 

This is important.

Offline InsideTheStripes

  • *
  • Posts: 243
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-5
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2017, 09:24:02 PM »
No foul.

Offline bctgp

  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-8
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2017, 10:49:07 PM »
I agree here - no foul. R should have been on End line as well and LJ should have backed straight out on GL sooner. 

Offline Joe Stack

  • *
  • Posts: 536
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-43
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2017, 01:24:56 PM »
Nothing. Assuming there is contact that would necessitate a hold (if at the point of attack, etc.), the defender makes an inside move and the runner is past him. I'll give a slightly-behind-the-runner defender the benefit of the doubt on a shirt or foot grab by an offensive player but not a straight up block like this.

Offline AFOpie

  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Would you flag #68 for OH or let it pass.
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2017, 06:59:46 AM »
#68 seemed to maintain his crack to the back.... no foul.