Author Topic: Foul by B, result of play is a touchback  (Read 704 times)

Offline Guido Pazzo

  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Foul by B, result of play is a touchback
« on: September 04, 2017, 08:53:04 PM »
Play situation:

Fumble by A a B-40 recovered by B.  During the return B commits IBSB at the A-30, B fumbles at the A-20, ball travels untouched beyond A's end line.

Ruling and enforcement?

Thanks for the help.

Offline VA Official

  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-5
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Foul by B, result of play is a touchback
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2017, 09:13:19 PM »
Play situation:

Fumble by A a B-40 recovered by B.  During the return B commits IBSB at the A-30, B fumbles at the A-20, ball travels untouched beyond A's end line.

Ruling and enforcement?

Thanks for the help.

Basic spot is the end of the related run (A-20, where the ball was fumbled). If the penalty is accepted, it's enforced from the spot of the foul (A-30) since the spot of the foul is behind the basic spot, per the ABO principle. B's ball, 1/10 at the A-45.

If the penalty is declined, the result of the play is a touchback because the force that put the ball across the goal line is B's fumble. A's ball, 1/10 at the A-20.

A will more than likely decline the penalty.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2017, 09:16:07 PM by VA Official »