Author Topic: Spike Attempt  (Read 887 times)

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2271
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-25
Spike Attempt
« on: September 07, 2017, 06:08:28 AM »
This was from our weekly quiz:

Quarterback A11 is in position for a direct hand to hand snap. A11 takes the snap and immediately throws the ball toward the ground and hits snapper A55 in the leg as the ball then falls to the ground.

A.  Illegal Touching by A55
B.  Illegal Forward Pass by A11, as the pass must go directly to the ground without touching anyone
C.  Legal play
D.  None of the above

I thought this  was a CB play in previous years, but I can't find it in last year's or this year's books.  Help?

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2660
  • FAN REACTION: +325/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Spike Attempt
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 07:36:26 AM »
Not illegal touching, as hitting Bubba in the butt is not a muff,bat or catch (7-5-13).

Not illegal forward pass, as it was going forward to the ground until Bubba's butt got in the way (7-5-2e exception).

Legal play.

Things to think about on spikes:

(1) If ball remained airborne ,it remains a forward pass and can be caught or intercepted.

(2) QB must spike the ball forward, if he turns and spikes it to his side, you may have a backward pass = open season on ball.

(3) Spike must follow a direct hand-to-hand snap. There has been some support to allow it from the shotgun as the big boys (NCAA) do. That support diminished last year when it was learned that the bigger boys (NFL) don't.

Offline dylansdad

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Spike Attempt
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 01:38:45 PM »
bama_stripes, you may have been thinking of a case book play from 2013, 7.5.2 SITUATION B:  Quarterback A1 is in position for a direct hand-to hand snap, . . . (b)A1 receives the snap, but his spike attempt hits snapper A2's leg and ricochets into the air.  A1 catches the ball and immediately spikes it forward.  Ruling is illegal forward pass.