Author Topic: Illegal pass and contact by defender  (Read 948 times)

Offline ck4597

  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Illegal pass and contact by defender
« on: September 14, 2017, 12:51:19 PM »
lots of discussion within crew regarding this pre-game play - your thoughts and references please

2nd/8 A24. A14 scrambles to A's 26 where he throws a pass to A88. B55 pushes A88 out of the
way at A's 40, intercepts the ball, and runs to A's 4 where he fumbles. The ball rolls into A's end
zone where B66 recovers.

Offline VA Official

  • *
  • Posts: 151
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-5
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2017, 01:03:55 PM »
lots of discussion within crew regarding this pre-game play - your thoughts and references please

2nd/8 A24. A14 scrambles to A's 26 where he throws a pass to A88. B55 pushes A88 out of the
way at A's 40, intercepts the ball, and runs to A's 4 where he fumbles. The ball rolls into A's end
zone where B66 recovers.

7-5-7 says pass interference restrictions only apply on a legal forward pass. Illegal forward pass at the A-26. B will undoubtedly decline the penalty and keep the touchdown. There's no "tack-on" of the penalty to the try or kickoff because there was a change of possession during the down (8-2-2).
« Last Edit: September 14, 2017, 01:07:36 PM by VA Official »

Offline SCHSref

  • *
  • Posts: 256
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-9
  • In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king
Re: Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2017, 01:05:09 PM »
VA beat me to it
If you didn't see it, you can't call it

Online CalhounLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 429
  • FAN REACTION: +11/-17
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2017, 01:07:43 PM »
Yeah not much to discuss there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 507
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-2
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2017, 01:12:28 PM »
I was going to say that, while DPI is off the table, there was still illegal use of hands for blocking a non-blocking eligible receiver downfield -- but eligible receivers are only relevant to legal passes. Since it's an illegal pass, that's off the table too.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2224
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-24
Re: Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2017, 06:37:47 AM »
This is going to be tricky to explain to A's coach.  There will likely be a flag on the ground for DPI, which will be waved off after it's learned that the QB was past the LOS.

Take your time, let him vent a little, and choose your words carefully.

Offline ck4597

  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Re: Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2017, 06:56:25 AM »
Thanks Gents

After much discussion - including contact with a defender who was an eligible receiver - this is the same conclusion we came up with

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2532
  • FAN REACTION: +309/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Illegal pass and contact by defender
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2017, 09:42:40 AM »
This is going to be tricky to explain to A's coach.  There will likely be a flag on the ground for DPI, which will be waved off after it's learned that the QB was past the LOS.

Take your time, let him vent a little, and choose your words carefully.
A MAINER : "AYUH, 'spect your thrower had wandered over that there line where the down box is before he threw 'er. We caught him doing that so there can't be no pass interference as your thrower didn't do 'er right. Ayuh, them other guys got ta' ball an took 'er in, 'spect we'll put their score up. Sorry chummy."

A 'bama : " Y'all had a quarterback over the....."

RULE BOOK : 2-3-5b  gives rule support for letting play stand. The pass has to be legal for pass interference to be considered.

TTTA (things to think about) ON THIS:
 (1) If fumble by B had gone OOB in field of play, B's ball there;
 (2) if fumble by B had gone OOB thru EZ = TB = take the IFP penalty;
 (3) If foul had occurred on a 4th down play, taking the penalty may give better
      field position if B didn't have long return;
 (4) R & U can beanbag QB's feet to mark spot of pass;
 (5) Suggest going to spot of IFP first, giving preliminary  S#35 followed by going
      to spot of DPI flag, point to it and S #13;
 (6) Follow that with your visit with A's coach to explain. By giving the preliminary
      signals before the discussion will indicate that this won't be a debate but
      merely an explanation .