Author Topic: nfhs rule on touch by receiving team on kickoff that does not travey 10 yds  (Read 872 times)

Offline rjmura

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
if a kickoff is touched by receing team before the ball travels 10 yds can kicling team recover the ball?

Online bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2239
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-25
Re: nfhs rule on touch by receiving team on kickoff that does not travey 10 yds
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2017, 07:50:19 PM »
Yes.  Once the receiving team touches the ball, it will be 1st down for whichever team is in possession at the end of the down.

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 2561
  • FAN REACTION: +315/-27
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: nfhs rule on touch by receiving team on kickoff that does not travey 10 yds
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2017, 11:14:19 AM »
A good way for the covering wings is to remind themselves that if the free kick doesn't travel 10 yards, IT IS JUST LIKE A PUNT (excepting going OOB untouched by R). Both wings should have their beanbags ready to mark 1st touching.