In a 6 man game, the receiver A1 caught the ball and advanced down the field for a first down. When he was being tackled he threw the ball forward to a teammate. The ball hit the ground and then the teammate picked it up. The official threw his flag and blew his whistle to stop the action. What is the ruling for this act? We were lucky because the game was over and the act didn't matter and the official close to the ball put the ball in the air, ending the game. But if it happened in the middle of a close game, I want to know what the ruling is.
The highlighted statement implies that the runner threw an Illegal Forward Pass. When the IFP hit the ground, it is treated as an incomplete pass and the down is over. The enforcement spot is 5 yards from the spot where the IFP was thrown.
Since you indicate time expired durring the down, the game is over and the period is not extended due to the LOD aspect of the foul.
However, if this play happened with time on the clock the foul would be enforce as follows: If the ball is beyond the LTG, it is 1st & 10 Snap Clock. If the enforcement leaves the ball behind the LTG, the down is not replayed and it will be the the next down Snap Clock.
VA Official ... Not walking on your post, I'm just a slow search & peck typist