Author Topic: Intentional Grounding- 10 Sec Runoff? Clock Status  (Read 345 times)

Offline BoBo

  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
Intentional Grounding- 10 Sec Runoff? Clock Status
« on: April 29, 2018, 11:49:03 AM »
2nd Quarter
0:43
3rd down and 5 on Bís 25 yardline

Qb A12 drops back to pass. He never leaves the tacklebox and at the B 35 yardline he throws the ball away in area past the line of scrimmage to avoid a sack. There are no elgible receivers in the area. When the play ends the clock reads 0:34. Referee drops a flag at the spot of the pass for intentional grounding.

What enforcement options do we have? Clock status? Ready for play? At the snap?  Does this qualify for :10 run off?

Online Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 543
  • FAN REACTION: +41/-9
Re: Intentional Grounding- 10 Sec Runoff? Clock Status
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2018, 01:50:27 PM »
Intentional grounding is loss of down at the spot of the foul. It will be 4th and 15 from the B-35. This does qualify for a 10 second runoff. The clock status depends entirely on whether B accepts the runoff. If they take the runoff, the clock will be set to :24 and start on the RFP. If they decline the runoff, the clock will stay at :34 and start on the snap.