Author Topic: Blocks Below the Waist  (Read 554 times)

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8466
  • FAN REACTION: +223/-240
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Blocks Below the Waist
« on: May 22, 2018, 11:54:22 AM »
1.  10 yards beyond the LOS, B21 goes below the waist from the front against A71 as he (B21) tries to get through the blocker to make the tackle.  Foul / NoFoul?

2.  10 yards beyond the LOS, B21 goes below the waist and hits A71 in the butt from behind as he (B21) tries to get through the blocker to make the tackle.  Foul / NoFoul

3. 10 yards beyond the LOS, B21 goes below the waist from the front against A88 (an eligible receiver) as he (B21) tries to get through the blocker to make the tackle.  Foul / NoFoul


Online clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 694
  • FAN REACTION: +13/-10
Re: Blocks Below the Waist
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2018, 02:00:44 PM »
As I read the rule, you are only free from BBW in an attempt to get to the ball carrier against an eligible pass receiver. Therefore, 1 and 2 should be fouls. Im curious about 3 because it is outside the 10 yard "belt" but it is against an eligible receiver in an attempt to get the ball

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 672
  • FAN REACTION: +53/-44
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Blocks Below the Waist
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2018, 02:09:51 PM »
1.  10 yards beyond the LOS, B21 goes below the waist from the front against A71 as he (B21) tries to get through the blocker to make the tackle.  Foul / NoFoul?
Foul.  Illegal block below the waist (against an ineligible player of A).

2.  10 yards beyond the LOS, B21 goes below the waist and hits A71 in the butt from behind as he (B21) tries to get through the blocker to make the tackle.  Foul / NoFoul
Insufficient information.  Such player may "push" an opponent in the buttocks, but not shoulder or body block.  If the "hit" is a push, No Foul - legal block from behind (clipping) while attempting to reach the runner.  If the "hit" is a shoulder or body block, Foul - illegal block from behind (clipping).

3. 10 yards beyond the LOS, B21 goes below the waist from the front against A88 (an eligible receiver) as he (B21) tries to get through the blocker to make the tackle.  Foul / NoFoul
Insufficient information.  If the ball carrier has crossed the NZ, then Foul - this would be an illegal block below the waist, because a forward pass is no longer possible by rule.  However, if the BC has not crossed the NZ and no legal forward pass has been thrown, and this is a legitimate effort to reach the runner, No Foul - legal block below the waist while attempting to reach the runner. However, 10 yards beyond the NZ would be very suspect as to the legitimacy of his effort to reach the runner.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1280
  • FAN REACTION: +65/-22
Re: Blocks Below the Waist
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2018, 09:25:41 AM »
There was a very good play about this on Walt Anderson's weekly teleconference either this year or last.

Basically, his philosophy was that you can't go "straight through" the blocker low to make the tackle.  That's a foul.  But, if you are diving to make the tackle and your body indirectly whips around or ends up hitting the blocker low, then that's ok.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 672
  • FAN REACTION: +53/-44
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Blocks Below the Waist
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2018, 04:42:16 PM »
Yes, and that is totally supported by the definition of blocking, edited recently by Redding or Shaw (not sure which), in that blocking is the intentional act of contacting an opponent.

Robert