Author Topic: Use of mitt in the outfield - OBR  (Read 505 times)

Offline D Ray

  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Use of mitt in the outfield - OBR
« on: June 25, 2018, 04:34:06 PM »
I am seeking a penalty for using an illegal glove under OBR.
The play -
F9 takes a 1st basemenís mitt to play outfield.  This is noticed by the team at bat.  A few batters into the inning, F9 makes a diving catch and the offense appeals to the umpire regarding use of an illegal glove.

I am aware of the FED rule awarding 3 bases for using an illegal glove (however, this play under FED would NOT be illegal), but I cannot find a penalty under OBR rules.

Thoughts?

I have posed this question on some other forums, so forgive me if you have seen this.

Online bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1376
  • FAN REACTION: +75/-22
Re: Use of mitt in the outfield - OBR
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2018, 07:53:51 AM »
No penalty under OBR.  Just have him change the glove to a legal one. 

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 709
  • FAN REACTION: +13/-12
Re: Use of mitt in the outfield - OBR
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2018, 06:46:08 PM »
This is not Illegal in Fed. In Fed rules you can play any position with any glove. The only illegal glove you can have is a pitcher wearing white or grey.

Offline bsaucer

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Use of mitt in the outfield - OBR
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2019, 01:32:27 PM »
I think I once read in OBR that a catch made with an illegal glove would be disallowed. Has that rule been changed?