Author Topic: Low Block Rule Language  (Read 10356 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

AFOpie

  • Guest
Low Block Rule Language
« on: July 28, 2018, 07:45:56 PM »
 A 3/5 B-25 RB A37 takes a delayed hand off and runs straight up the field between the snapper and the RG. RT A77 moves quickly 3 yards beyond the LOS where he turns back and blocks low towards his own goal line striking defender B55 within the 10-2 area at the knees. The block occurs at the B-22 as A-37 is approaching the LOS. A37 is run out of bounds at the A-15.
Ruling:

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2018, 11:04:54 PM »
Where was the ball at the time of the block?  That will be the key in determining a foul or not.  If the ball has not yet left the blocking zone the block is legal per exception 3 of 9-1-6.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2018, 11:07:46 PM »
First, let’s assume you meant A37 is run OB at the B-15 (not the A-15).
Quick answer: Legal block.

Full explanation:
Team A players are permitted to BBW toward their own end line, until the ball leaves the Tackle Box, with the following conditions:
- the block can’t be more than 5 yards downfield
- if the block is by a player that was outside the tackle box at the snap or anytime thereafter, the block must be directed from the front, and may not be “toward the ball”

Assuming lineman A77 was within the tackle box at the snap, and, since the block was from the front, not more than 5 yards beyond the NZ, and the ball was still in the tackle box when the block occurred, that makes the block legal.

Robert

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2018, 02:00:04 PM »
First, let’s assume you meant A37 is run OB at the B-15 (not the A-15).
Quick answer: Legal block.

Full explanation:
Team A players are permitted to BBW toward their own end line, until the ball leaves the Tackle Box, with the following conditions:
- the block can’t be more than 5 yards downfield
- if the block is by a player that was outside the tackle box at the snap or anytime thereafter, the block must be directed from the front, and may not be “toward the ball”

Assuming lineman A77 was within the tackle box at the snap, and, since the block was from the front, not more than 5 yards beyond the NZ, and the ball was still in the tackle box when the block occurred, that makes the block legal.

Robert

Suppose left guard A77, who is lined up inside the tackle box at the snap, pulls to his left after the snap and is now outside the tackle box runs back to his right and blocks the linebacker beyond the NZ in a block that is within "10-2" below the waist but back towards the original position of the ball.  Legal or Illegal?

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2018, 02:20:53 PM »
Suppose left guard A77, who is lined up inside the tackle box at the snap, pulls to his left after the snap and is now outside the tackle box runs back to his right and blocks the linebacker beyond the NZ in a block that is within "10-2" below the waist but back towards the original position of the ball.  Legal or Illegal?

Quick answer:  Illegal BBW.
Explanation:  By rule, when any A player is outside the tackle box (at the snap, or any time after thereafter), any block below the waist by that player must be from the front, and not “toward the ball.” 
Since he had been outside the TB, then blocked BBW back toward the ball, that’s an illegal BBW.

Once a lineman that was inside the TB at the snap leaves the TB, he loses the special privileges to block low from the side, and/or “toward the ball.”

Once a back that was stationary and inside the TB at the snap leaves the TB, he loses his special privilege to block low “toward the ball” (all of his low blocks must be from the front).

Robert

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2018, 02:31:31 PM »
Quick answer:  Illegal BBW.
Explanation:  By rule, when any A player is outside the tackle box (at the snap, or any time after thereafter), any block below the waist by that player must be from the front, and not “toward the ball.” 
Since he had been outside the TB, then blocked BBW back toward the ball, that’s an illegal BBW.

Once a lineman that was inside the TB at the snap leaves the TB, he loses the special privileges to block low from the side, and/or “toward the ball.”

Once a back that was stationary and inside the TB at the snap leaves the TB, he loses his special privilege to block low “toward the ball” (all of his low blocks must be from the front).

Robert

That's what I was thinking just wanted it in better English.  Too many commas and the use of the word "or" in the exception.  I just wish AR 9-1-6-XI was more descriptive on which direction A66 is blocking in situation (b) of that AR.  It only mentions the block must be within "10-2".

Another scenario is when A66 stays inside of the tackle box but the ball leaves the tackle box, which by rule disintegrates, and then A66 from his same spot, blocks "10-2" but back toward the original position of the ball.  Ruling:
« Last Edit: July 29, 2018, 02:48:50 PM by JasonTX »

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2018, 04:43:15 PM »
Another scenario is when A66 stays inside of the tackle box but the ball leaves the tackle box, which by rule disintegrates, and then A66 from his same spot, blocks "10-2" but back toward the original position of the ball.  Ruling:

Jason,

Quick answer:  illegal BBW.

Explanation:  Once the ball leaves the TB, all A players are governed by the same BBW rules.  At that point, no A player may block low toward the ball, or back toward their own end line, period; and all A low blocks must be from the front, period.  And, of course, no low blocks more than 5 yards beyond the NZ.

Robert

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2018, 09:26:05 AM »
Any examples on how the wording "“Directed from the front” is defined as within the clock face region between “10 o’clock and 2 o’clock” forward of the area of concentration of the player being blocked." impact the interpretation of the 2018 rule?  Are we being charged with being sure what direction the defender is focusing his eyes to determine the ".. area of concentration of the player ..."?
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2018, 10:39:22 AM »
Any examples on how the wording "“Directed from the front” is defined as within the clock face region between “10 o’clock and 2 o’clock” forward of the area of concentration of the player being blocked." impact the interpretation of the 2018 rule?  Are we being charged with being sure what direction the defender is focusing his eyes to determine the ".. area of concentration of the player ..."?

Per Rogers Redding's presentation at the TASO Annual Meeting on 7/21, generally speaking, yes we need to be able to judge the area of concentration of the player being blocked.  But, the responsibility for making a legal block is squarely on the shoulders of the playing making the block.  When in question - even the slightest question - make it a foul.

The biggest factor in BBW is the direction of the block.  Sadly, this gets into physics a bit, with the direction of the block, essentially, being the travel "vector" of the blocker, as compared to the defined area of concentration of the player being blocked.  If the vector of the blocker is not within the 120 degree window of the area of concentration, then the block will be illegal, EVEN IF THE CONTACT IS ON THE FRONT SURFACEs (groin, thighs, knees, lower legs) OF THE PLAYER BEING BLOCKED.
   

Offline Rostrom

  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2018, 11:34:58 AM »
In what precise Rule can I read, that a linemen who leaves and returns to the TB can not block below the waist by the side in the opposite direction of the original position of the ball at the snap?. (of course, considering that the blocks ocurrs when the ball has not left the TB).?

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2018, 01:46:21 PM »
In what precise Rule can I read, that a linemen who leaves and returns to the TB can not block below the waist by the side (of course, considering that the blocks ocurrs when the ball has not left the TB).?
in the opposite direction of the original position of the ball at the snap?.

Rostrom,
You are actually asking about at least two different elements of low blocking that are sometimes legal, and sometimes illegal.
The part of 9-1-6-a that I have highlighted with bold and italicized text is the part that governs low blocking from the front or side, and toward the ball.  By not prohibiting them, sentence one allows low blocking from the side, and back toward the ball by ONLY those players in the situation described.  Sentence two allows low blocks ONLY from the front by players in other situations.

9-1-6-a Exception 2 governs low blocking toward the original position of the snap.  Low blocking by team any team A player AWAY from the original position of the ball, not back toward A's end line, not more than 5 yards beyond the NZ, and from the front is permitted (with a couple of exceptions, of course, but generally true). 

But, the part of your question that says, "...in the opposite direction of the original position of the ball at the snap..." is confusing.  Do you mean toward the ball?  Or away from the ball?
--------------------------------------------------------------
ARTICLE 6. a. Team A prior to a change of team possession:
Linemen with initial position completely inside the tackle box may legally
block below the waist inside the tackle box until the ball leaves the tackle box.
All other Team A players are allowed to block below the waist only if the force
of the initial contact is directed from the front.
“Directed from the front” is
defined as within the clock face region between “10 o’clock and 2 o’clock”
forward of the area of concentration of the player being blocked.
Exceptions:
1. Team A players may not block below the waist when the block occurs
five yards or more beyond the neutral zone.
2. Players outside the tackle box at the snap, or any time after the snap,
or in motion at the snap may not block below the waist toward the
original position of the ball at the snap.

3. Once the ball has left the tackle box, a player may not block below the
waist toward his own end line.

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2018, 02:05:46 PM »
in the opposite direction of the original position of the ball at the snap?.


I think he is asking about a situation where the ball is still in the tackle box but an interior lineman who started out in tackle box, leaves the tackle box and then returns into the tackle box and blocks a player in the side but not towards the original position of the ball at the snap.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2018, 04:19:42 PM »
I think he is asking about a situation where the ball is still in the tackle box but an interior lineman who started out in tackle box, leaves the tackle box and then returns into the tackle box and blocks a player in the side but not towards the original position of the ball at the snap.

After a lineman, originally within the tackle box at the snap, leaves the TB, then returns within the TB and make low block away from the ball, not more than 5 yards beyond the NZ, not back toward A's end line, and from the front = legal.  (Legal whether with the TB or not, before or after the ball leaves the TB.)

Easy, eh?

Robert

Offline Rostrom

  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2018, 11:34:27 PM »
Very well, using your words, the new question with a variant would be:
  After a lineman, originally within the tackle box at the snap, leaves the TB, then returns within the TB and there  inside the TB, make a block away from the ball. (When the block ocurrs the ball remains on the TB).
The block was:
a). By the front, below the waist and 45 degrees toward A's end line.
b). Below the waist and by the side of the opponent and toward the sideline.

I try to prove that the rule is not consistent or similar to 9-1-5-Exc.b... Which I write below

Clipping
ARTICLE 5. There shall be no clipping (Rule 2-5).
Exceptions:

1.   Offensive players who are on the line of scrimmage at the snap within the blocking zone (Rule 2-3-6) legally may clip in the blocking zone, subject to the following restrictions:.
(a)   A player in the blocking zone may not block an opponent with the force of the initial contact from behind and at or below the knee.
(b)   A player on the line of scrimmage within the blocking zone may not leave the zone and return and legally clip.

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2018, 11:47:18 AM »
Very well, using your words, the new question with a variant would be:
  After a lineman, originally within the tackle box at the snap, leaves the TB, then returns within the TB and there  inside the TB, make a block away from the ball. (When the block ocurrs the ball remains on the TB).
The block was:
a). By the front, below the waist and 45 degrees toward A's end line.
b). Below the waist and by the side of the opponent and toward the sideline.

I try to prove that the rule is not consistent or similar to 9-1-5-Exc.b... Which I write below

Clipping
ARTICLE 5. There shall be no clipping (Rule 2-5).
Exceptions:

1.   Offensive players who are on the line of scrimmage at the snap within the blocking zone (Rule 2-3-6) legally may clip in the blocking zone, subject to the following restrictions:.
(a)   A player in the blocking zone may not block an opponent with the force of the initial contact from behind and at or below the knee.
(b)   A player on the line of scrimmage within the blocking zone may not leave the zone and return and legally clip.


The difference is a Clip and a Block Below the Waist are not the same so the rules the govern each of them are different.  Anytime you have a block from behind below the waist either above or below the knee we are using the rules that govern clipping.  9-1-6 is not used when we are dealing with clipping.

Offline Rostrom

  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2018, 12:58:33 PM »
Quote
The difference is a Clip and a Block Below the Waist are not the same so the rules the govern each of them are different.  Anytime you have a block from behind below the waist either above or below the knee we are using the rules that govern clipping.  9-1-6 is not used when we are dealing with clipping.

Of course I know the difference between clipping and BBW. My point is that similar faults must be treated and applied in the same way. Not doing so is speaking in terms of universal law "an inconsistency".

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4280
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-165
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Low Block Rule Language
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2018, 01:34:13 PM »
Very well, using your words, the new question with a variant would be:
  After a lineman, originally within the tackle box at the snap, leaves the TB, then returns within the TB and there  inside the TB, make a block away from the ball. (When the block ocurrs the ball remains on the TB).The block was:
I try to prove that the rule is not consistent or similar to 9-1-5-Exc.b... Which I write below
a). By the front, below the waist and 45 degrees toward A's end line.

b). Below the waist and by the side of the opponent and toward the sideline.

Clipping
ARTICLE 5. There shall be no clipping (Rule 2-5).
Exceptions:

1.   Offensive players who are on the line of scrimmage at the snap within the blocking zone (Rule 2-3-6) legally may clip in the blocking zone, subject to the following restrictions:.
(a)   A player in the blocking zone may not block an opponent with the force of the initial contact from behind and at or below the knee.
(b)   A player on the line of scrimmage within the blocking zone may not leave the zone and return and legally clip.


Rostrom,
Unfortunately, you have discovered what I believe to be a flaw in the rule language - but I have no proof of that.
The flaw is that the 2018 BBW rules clearly prohibit a lineman that was within the TB at the snap to leave the tackle box, then BBW toward the ball (outside or within, the TB).  However, the language of the rules does not truly prohibit such a lineman from returning within the TB and blocking from the side (away from the ball), regardless of the location of the ball.  I believe this to be a flaw in the language.  I believe the intent is to make such interior linemen "equal" with the rest of Team A once they leave the tackle box, i.e., all low blocks must be from the front.  But, I have no solid proof of that - only what I have inferred from what Redding said in a recent clinic, and what from what Shaw has said in videos related to BBW.  For all I truly know, the intent is, in fact, to allow those original interior linemen to BBW from the side, within the TB, even if they have left the TB (then returned).

Yes, making all players that are ever outside the TB equal to players that originate outside the TB would be consistent with the clipping rule and the blocking zone.
Unfortunately, neither I, nor anyone I know, has a direct connection to Shaw for interpretation.

Robert