Author Topic: Clock question  (Read 2905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-164
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Clock question
« on: September 19, 2018, 09:52:13 AM »
3/10, B-15, 10:00 (4), running.  A=21, B=17.

B33 pulls end A88 down to the ground just as A88 is about the touch A11's legal forward pass in B's end zone.  B27 intercepts the pass and is tackled
a) in the end zone;

b) at the B-5, in the field of play.

Give me your complete rulings, include status of both clocks.

Robert

Offline Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 1024
  • FAN REACTION: +56/-11
Re: Clock question
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2018, 10:53:58 AM »
DPI, 1/G B-2 (in the same lateral position as the previous spot), PC 25

In A, GC on the snap because the result of the play was a touchback.

In B, GC on RFP because the only clock stoppers are penalty administration and awarding Team A a first down. Even though there was a change of team possession, Team B will not next snap the ball, so the clock is still on the RFP. AR 3-3-2-III

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-164
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Clock question
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2018, 01:00:47 PM »
That's what I understand, too.  But rationalizing the difference between down in the end zone and down in the field of play with regard to the game clock is difficult.  In both, Team B is awarded a first down (technically), but will not next snap the ball.  Go figure.  But, I do as written.

This was something Redding changed some years ago.  Before that, any COP would require the clock to start on the snap, even if A got the ball back by penalty.  No mas. No mas.

Robert

Offline Morningrise

  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • FAN REACTION: +25/-8
Re: Clock question
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 02:19:39 PM »
This isn't what you were getting at, but it came to mind: If the same conduct constitutes DPI and defensive holding, do we enforce whichever is more yards?

My recollection is no; that the philosophy is, if the pass is in the air and the intended receiver gets held, call only DPI even if DH would be a couple more yards.

But if the same conduct constitutes DPI and a personal foul, then we DO enforce whichever is more yards. There is explicit language in the rules for this case (7-3-9-e). Note that there is corresponding language for DPI that is also holding.