I brought this up because at my association's meeting, someone stated that a B helmet plus a holding foul would result in PC 40 after penalty completion, and the statement was not refuted so I wanted to check and make sure I didn't have it wrong.
I think the key is the first sentence in 3-3-9-b: "When the helmet coming off is the only reason for stopping the clock"
If it is not the only reason, then you ignore everything after that in 3-3-9-b, and go with 3-2-4-b and -c.
I like this logic and it makes sense... except that I can think of situations where the B helmet is not the ONLY reason for stopping the clock, yet the play clock still goes to 40.
B99's helmet comes off and A33 rushes for a first down inbounds: PC 40
B99's helmet comes off and A33 fumbles and B22 recovers: PC 25
In both of those cases, the helmet is not the only reason for stopping the clock, so we presumably go to 3-2-4 and... again, that rule's language is ambiguous as to when we go with 3-2-4-c-13 versus 3-2-4-c-6.
So here's what 3-2-4-c presumably wants to say:
If any NON-injury, NON-helmet 3-2-4-c event happened: PC 25,
OTHERWISE,
If any B injury or B helmet happened: PC 40,
OTHERWISE,
If any A injury or A helmet happened: PC 25.
Accurate?