Author Topic: If Team A elects to spot the ball behind the B-3 on a try  (Read 2687 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Morningrise

  • *
  • Posts: 608
  • FAN REACTION: +25/-8
If Team A elects to spot the ball behind the B-3 on a try
« on: November 05, 2018, 02:36:45 PM »
Team A scores a touchdown. Team A requests the ball be spotted one yard back at the B-4 (perhaps because, I dunno, maybe the kicker likes the grass at the B-11 better than at the B-10). The officials grant this request under rule 8-3-2-c. Then:
a) After the play clock hits 25, Team A calls a time out and requests the ball be spotted at the B-3 after all. Ruling?
b) After the play clock hits 25, Team B calls a time out. Team A requests the ball be spotted at the B-3 after all. Ruling?
c) After the play clock hits 25, B99 jumps offside and contacts an opponent. Team A decides to go for two and asks to spot the ball at the B-1.5. Ruling?

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: If Team A elects to spot the ball behind the B-3 on a try
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 03:34:08 PM »
The good news for Team A is that, in all three stated scenarios, Team A may request the ball to be placed wherever they want it for the subsequent succeeding spot, laterally (on/between the has marks).  Regarding the enforcement spot for the Team B foul, I see nothing that would allow Team A to designate the B-3 as the succeeding spot (which is the enforcement spot for dead-ball fouls), so they would get 1/2 the distance from the B-4, taking the succeeding spot to the B-2.  At that point, they could request the succeeding spot to be relocated to any point on/behind the B-2.  Admittedly, that is an interpretation on my part, and RR or SS might say differently.  (There are no ARs or bulletin plays covering these scenarios.)
The governing criteria for these specific scenarios is the charged time out to either team, and the fact that Team A did not commit a foul.  (see 8-3-2-c)

Now, if Team A commits a foul, by itself, or with an offsetting B foul, then they are locked in to that spot, and may not have the succeeding spot relocated for that down.  Not even taking a team time out will allow A to have the succeeding spot relocated.  If they foul, they are locked in to that spot.  Period.

Robert