As a half is ending, or game is ending, does the execution of a snap supercede a timeout whistle, blown very slightly after the snap? Should/can the result of the play count? Do officials have to grant the timeout request this late? Can officials deny the timeout request, if not given time to properly communicate the timeout before the snap? To me, if the timeout is requested so late that the whistle is after the snap, the result of play should stand. How far out of the coaches box is acceptable for a coach to be in an effort to get a timeout? I've seen coaches well out of the box,almost to the goal line as the teams were lining up for the play. Should officials penalize a coach for going well out of the box?
As a fan, I find it wrong and ridiculous of teams waiting far too long to request a timeout to ice a kicker, or to see what a called play is, before requesting the timeout. It results in a late whistle, occuring just after an executed snap. Is all this a discretionary decision by officials, in which the result can justifiably go eithier way? Is the rule book very vague on this? I can't even find anything close to a definite answer to this. I am guessing, all of it depends on how officials interpret the rule book. Help please, as detailed as possible explanation is needed.
Thank you