Author Topic: Illegal Touching vs. Illegal Forward Pass  (Read 2448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4169
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Illegal Touching vs. Illegal Forward Pass
« on: December 01, 2018, 09:41:23 AM »
Two point try.  QB A-12 drops back to pass and while being rushed tries to dump the ball short to RB A-24.  Just as he is about to release the pass he is grabbed by B-90 clearly changing the path of the forward pass (the ball is not touched by B-90).  The errant forward pass ends up being caught by snapper A-72 at the 5 yard line and he proceeds to run the ball into the EZ.  What's the call?
« Last Edit: December 01, 2018, 10:02:45 AM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Illegal Touching vs. Illegal Forward Pass
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2018, 11:14:37 AM »
Assuming the contact but B-90 was after A-12 began the passing motion, by philosophy, no intentional grounding when the passer is contacted by an opponent after he begins the passing motion.  But, the catch by A72 is illegal touching.  5 yards from the previous spot and repeat the try.

A, try, B-8 (assuming previous spot was the B-3).

Robert