Author Topic: "Both Feet"  (Read 494 times)

Offline Willis

  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
"Both Feet"
« on: December 17, 2018, 08:04:49 AM »
The NFL rule seems to be pretty specific that a receiver has to have "both feet" down in bounds to for a pass to be complete.  Does one foot down multiple times "i.e. skipping" count?  Say there is less than 2 minutes in the game, a receiver makes a hard cut and rolls his left ankle.  He is hopping on one foot towards the sideline when the QB throws him the ball.  He catches it and hops 5 times on his right foot to get out of bounds to stop the clock.  His left foot (nor any other body part) never makes contact with the ground.  By the letter of the rule, this would seem to be an incomplete pass.  Am I missing something that allows for this to be called complete?

Offline goodgrr

  • Roger Goodgroves
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • FAN REACTION: +13/-12
  • We are always learning
Re: "Both Feet"
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2018, 08:23:18 AM »
No, you aren't missing anything, that is the way the rule is written.

In your example, the player should hop towards the sideline and before going out kneel (or otherwise touch a body part that's not his hands or good foot) and roll out of bounds.

If the NFL get a receiver with an artificial lower leg I suspect they will address the wording but unlikely before that.

Offline Etref

  • *
  • Posts: 1775
  • FAN REACTION: +60/-22
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
Re: "Both Feet"
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2018, 05:01:26 PM »
the ole John Madden adage
“One knee equals 2 feet”
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline Willis

  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: "Both Feet"
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2018, 11:32:56 AM »
So if the receiver hops on one foot into the endzone and spikes the ball before a second foot or other body part touch the ground, the pass is also incomplete?

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 858
  • FAN REACTION: +64/-59
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: "Both Feet"
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2018, 03:25:58 PM »
What'ch you talkin' 'bout, Willis?


(Sorry.  Couldn't resist.)

Offline goodgrr

  • Roger Goodgroves
  • *
  • Posts: 330
  • FAN REACTION: +13/-12
  • We are always learning
Re: "Both Feet"
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2018, 03:36:15 PM »
So if the receiver hops on one foot into the endzone and spikes the ball before a second foot or other body part touch the ground, the pass is also incomplete?

Correct.