I can't figure out how to attach a video clip, but if you are interested the play in question starts at 46 seconds remaining in the game and involves a Washington touchdown and the location of the ball/player in relation to the goal line pylon. The Rule 2 definition of goal lines and pylons could be quite clear were it not for the addition of....."and includes the pylons, which are out of bounds.
I've spent quite a bit of time reading the rules and the A.R.'s. The sheer number of cross references, and cross references within the cross references, cause a lot of confusion.
In the Rose Bowl case I believe that the official surmised that the ball crossed over the pylon while he was still airborne. Thus breaking the plane of the goal line. The confirmation by replay would also have to mean that the players foot was not OB around the 3 or so.
If anyone saw the play or watches the replay I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on the call.
last thought.........want to clear up a lot of confusion in the rules (at least based upon the number and complexities of the related A.R.'s) Just change the rules to say that the goal line only extends from the inside of the pylons, and does not include the pylons which are out of bounds.