Author Topic: Rose Bowl TD call  (Read 6552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OSU65

  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • FAN REACTION: +65534/-2
Rose Bowl TD call
« on: January 02, 2019, 03:45:02 PM »

I can't figure out how to attach a video clip, but if you are interested the play in question starts at 46 seconds remaining in the game and involves a Washington touchdown and the location of the ball/player in relation to the goal line pylon. The Rule 2 definition of goal lines and pylons could be quite clear were it not for the addition of....."and includes the pylons, which are out of bounds.

I've spent quite a bit of time reading the rules and the A.R.'s. The sheer number of cross references, and cross references within the cross references, cause a lot of confusion.

In the Rose Bowl case I believe that the official surmised that the ball crossed over the pylon while he was still airborne. Thus breaking the plane of the goal line. The confirmation by replay would also have to mean that the players foot was not OB around the 3 or so.

If anyone saw the play or watches the replay I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on the call.

last thought.........want to clear up a lot of confusion in the rules (at least based upon the number and complexities of the related A.R.'s) Just change the rules to say that the goal line only extends from the inside of the pylons, and does not include the pylons which are out of bounds.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2019, 04:19:30 PM »
The goal line extends into infinity outside the pylon also but I am
Not sure if that was part of the play or not .  I don’t recall the play but will look for it and clip it .  Interesting movement by the L.   http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=25664105

« Last Edit: January 02, 2019, 04:43:49 PM by TXMike »

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2019, 07:56:51 PM »
The video feed from ESPN Command Central    https://youtu.be/h7ErVEJjXqQ

Offline Etref

  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2364
  • FAN REACTION: +87/-29
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2019, 08:47:23 PM »
Why on God’s green earth was the L not at the goal line ??????
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline Derek Teigen

  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-1
  • Committed to the game; safety and sportsmanship
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2019, 09:40:35 PM »
Hello I agree with Etref.  Our association was very clear on the goal line mechanics and I would have immediately moved to the goal line on the snap and position myself 2 yards off the line...working back if necessary.

In cases where the runner extends and hits the pylon with the ball (not the case in this play) is the spot the nose of the bell just before the goal line?

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2019, 09:55:19 PM »
In cases where the runner extends and hits the pylon with the ball (not the case in this play) is the spot the nose of the bell just before the goal line?

If the ball touches the pylon it is a TD.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2019, 10:13:28 PM »
This is a great document from Rom Gilbert on the pylon  http://romgilbert.us/p-1408.htm

Offline Derek Teigen

  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-1
  • Committed to the game; safety and sportsmanship
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2019, 10:19:14 PM »
Thank you Texas Mike.  I'll take that.  I am wondering though if the Pylon is considered out of bounds...then it must be a judgement call if any part of the ball was on the 'inside' of the pylon.  In any case, even as a first year official I can see that the goal line mechanics for this play in question were not what we have been taught.

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2019, 02:08:15 AM »
Thank you Texas Mike.  I'll take that.  I am wondering though if the Pylon is considered out of bounds...then it must be a judgement call if any part of the ball was on the 'inside' of the pylon.  In any case, even as a first year official I can see that the goal line mechanics for this play in question were not what we have been taught.

The pylon is out of bounds behind and within the goal line plane - so if the ball touches it it is dead behind the goal line and if the ball crosses over the pylon it has penetrated the plane - the extended goal line is the part beyond the pylons and comes into play only for a ball carrier who is inbounds. Rom's play situations should cover all eventualities, I suggest you study those for a bit (and other Rom's mini missives, they are all excellent even if not updated for this year).

Rom's plays #1-#3 illustrate the differences between the pylon and the goal line extended nicely.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4278
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-164
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2019, 02:26:54 AM »
Thank you Texas Mike.  I'll take that.  I am wondering though if the Pylon is considered out of bounds...then it must be a judgement call if any part of the ball was on the 'inside' of the pylon.  In any case, even as a first year official I can see that the goal line mechanics for this play in question were not what we have been taught.


Derek, as strange as it may sound, by 2-12-2, the field side face of the pylon (in line with the plane of the goal line) is considered as an extension of the goal line.  So, any contact of the ball with the pylon - in possession of an attacking team player - is a touchdown.

Robert

PS Aloha to everyone.  Sadly, returning home tomorrow.  Going from shorts, T-shirts, and flip flops to thermal clothing and coats.  Dang.  Double dang!
  :'(

Offline Andrew McCarthy

  • *
  • Posts: 1010
  • FAN REACTION: +21/-6
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2019, 06:54:49 AM »
Just to be clear, the call on the field was not confirmed as there was no video evidence to prove it was correct. There was also no evidence to prove it was incorrect so the call stands. 

Offline sj

  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • FAN REACTION: +6/-2
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2019, 11:20:39 AM »
This is a great document from Rom Gilbert on the pylon  http://romgilbert.us/p-1408.htm

About Mr. Gilbert. Is he ok or hopefully just taking some time off?

Offline OSU65

  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • FAN REACTION: +65534/-2
Re: Rose Bowl TD call
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2019, 06:27:20 PM »
I was sloppy in my wording about confirmed. I wasn't even thinking about the official wording.

#7 from Gilbert sure seems to cover the situation. 

7- The ball carrier is airborne including striding. The ball crosses the sideline on the one yardline and breaks the plane of the goal line beyond the pylon. The ball carrier then lands outside the sideline ////// Ball dead on the one. The goal line is not extended beyond the pylon since A88 did not touch the pylon or the ground in the end zone.

However the official must have seen it differently and made the call based on #1 from Gilbert.

1-The ball carrier is airborne including striding. The ball (a) touches the pylon; (b) goes over the top of the pylon; or (c) crosses the goal line inside the pylon. A88 then steps out of bounds on or outside the sideline ////// Touchdown. It is a touchdown in (a), (b) and (c). The ball carrier has possession of a live ball when the ball penetrates the plane of the opponent's goal line.