Author Topic: running into the kicker enforcement  (Read 257 times)

Offline d3ref

  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
running into the kicker enforcement
« on: April 14, 2019, 04:36:01 PM »
I wanted to try and be clear on enforcement of running into the kicker.  It is not PSK enforcement but previous spot only.  Is that correct?  And if so, why is it not PSK?  The way I read the rulebook, it meets the criteria of PSK and should be enforced at the end of the kick.  Any help in understanding this would be great.

Offline Legacy Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 609
  • FAN REACTION: +42/-9
Re: running into the kicker enforcement
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2019, 05:08:32 PM »
PSK only applies to foul that donít have a specific enforcement spot listed in the penalty statement. Since RNK is specifically enforced at the previous spot it doesnít qualify.

Offline d3ref

  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-1
Re: running into the kicker enforcement
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2019, 07:37:30 PM »
Thank you very much.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1441
  • FAN REACTION: +80/-23
Re: running into the kicker enforcement
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2019, 09:25:02 PM »
Legacy Zebra nailed the rule here.

In real life application, the easiest way to remember PSK is that if the foul happened as part of the kick coverage, it's PSK.  If it happened as part of the punt rush, make it previous spot.

There are sometimes goofy fouls that are part of the punt coverage, but by technical reading of the rule become previous spot (for instance an immediate hold of the gunner on a punt prior to the kick).  By philosophy, make those PSK!