Author Topic: Redding-Shaw Quiz 14  (Read 338 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 1256
  • FAN REACTION: +76/-71
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Redding-Shaw Quiz 14
« on: November 27, 2019, 01:42:03 PM »
Redding-Shaw Quiz 14

My answers:

1.   A, 1/G, B-2, Snap (25).  The pure result of the play is a touchback.  Barring other factors, B would get the ball at the B-20, which is a change of possession AFTER the down.  The RPS penalty can be enforced at the end of the last run, if there was no change of team possession DURING the down.  Therefore, the penalty can be enforced at the B-4, half the distance, and includes an automatic first down.  Due to the apparent touchback, the game clock next starts on the snap.  Due to the penalty completion, the play clock is set to 25, and starts on the referee’s signal.

2.   A, Try, B-3, no clock (25).  The recovery and return of the ball by A37 is legal and results in a TD.  By rule, the 10-yard penalty for the holding foul is declined.  The game clock does not run during tries. Due to the penalty completion, the play clock is set to 25, and starts on the referee’s signal.

3.   A, 2/15, A-1, Ready (25).  The pure result of the play is a new series for A.  The pass is legal, as A26 is in the area, so there is no foul for intentional grounding.  A72’s touching of the pass is illegal touching, and is penalized at the previous spot, ˝ the distance, and repeat the down.  Team B will accept the penalty.  Due to the penalty completion, the play clock is set to 25, and both clocks start on the referee’s signal.

4.   A, 3/27, A-30, Ready (25).  The pure result of the play is a new series for A.  The block by A67 is illegal clipping (since it is from behind and at/ below the knee).  Team B will accept the penalty, 15 yards  from the previous spot and repeat the down.  Due to the penalty completion, the play clock is set to 25, and both clocks start on the referee’s signal.

5.   A, 4/2, A-48, 0:35 (4), Ready (no play clock).  The 'injury' to B45 results in a 10-second subtraction, taking the game clock to 0:35.  By rule, the game clock will start on the RFP.  Since a defensive injury sets the play clock to 40 seconds, the play clock will not run.  Team A will likely just let the game clock expire.

6.   B, 1/10, B-5, Snap (25).  Since A88 was forced OB (presumably by an opponent), he did not lose his eligibility when he returned inbounds (i.e., some part of his body touching inbounds and no part of his body was touching anything OB).  Thus, his touching of the passed ball is legal.  However, to complete a catch, an airborne player must return to the ground inbounds.  When B21 blocked airborne A88 after A88 touched the ball, that block was perfectly legal.  The fact that A88 then first returned to the ground OB simply means the catch was not completed, and the ball is dead.  There is no provision for a receiver that 'would have' returned to the ground inbounds.  This is just an incomplete pass.  Since it was 4th down, Team B is awarded a series at the previous spot.  Due to the incomplete pass and/or the award of a series to B (take your pick), the game clock will start on the snap, and the play clock is set 25 and started on the referee’s signal.

7.   Safety by penalty – 2 points for A.  The momentum exception applies to B21’s interception.  Thus, the pure result of the play B’s ball at the spot of the interception (B-4).  The Basic Spot for fouls that occur during the interval after the pass is intercepted, and the momentum exception applies, is the spot where possession was gained – in this case, the B-4.  The spot of the foul is behind the Basic Spot, so it is enforced from the spot of the foul.  Since the spot of the foul is in B’s end zone, the penalty results in a safety – 2 points for A.  The next down is a free kick after a safety by B, from the B-20.  The game clock will be started per Free Kick rules, and the play clock is set to 25 and started on the referee’s signal.

8.   A, 2/10, B-25, Snap (25).  A12’s grounding of the pass is legal.  The illegal formation foul did not cause the clock to stop, so there is no adjustment to the game clock.  Team B will accept the ILF penalty, to push Team A back to the B-25.  Due to the legal incomplete pass, the game clock will start on the snap.  Due to the completion of the penalty, the play clock is set to 25 and started on the referee’s signal.

Offline TxBJ

  • *
  • Posts: 286
  • FAN REACTION: +9/-4
Re: Redding-Shaw Quiz 14
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2019, 07:59:21 PM »
I think your answers are spot on.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 1256
  • FAN REACTION: +76/-71
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Redding-Shaw Quiz 14
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2019, 11:41:38 AM »
3.  Redding/Shaw say the clock starts on the snap.  Can't see why.  Just a down that ends inbounds.  Yeah, A made the line -to-gain, but that has no bearing.  Anybody?

Robert


Offline mwa

  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: Redding-Shaw Quiz 14
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2019, 04:41:09 PM »

question 3,  only thing I can see if the pass is ruled incomplete due to A72's attempt to catch the pass, rule 3-3-2-d-2 is in effect and on the snap.   Even though A26 caught A72's muff and advanced to the A-18 in would be an incomplete pass as a result of the illegal touch.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 1256
  • FAN REACTION: +76/-71
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Redding-Shaw Quiz 14
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2019, 07:04:43 PM »
question 3,  only thing I can see if the pass is ruled incomplete due to A72's attempt to catch the pass, rule 3-3-2-d-2 is in effect and on the snap.   Even though A26 caught A72's muff and advanced to the A-18 in would be an incomplete pass as a result of the illegal touch.

No, the pass isn’t ruled incomplete.  Play simply continues, and a flag is thrown for the illegal touching foul. The clock stops for the apparent award of a first down, and to complete the penalty.  There is no other cause for the clock to stop. The penalty is five yards from the previous spot, and repeat the down.  So, following enforcement of the penalty, the play clock is set to 25, and both clocks start on the referee’s signal.
Unless I’ve missed something.

I think you are thinking of illegal touching by an originally eligible player that loses eligibility by being out of bounds voluntarily, and then returns inbounds and touches the ball before it is touched by B (or an official). The penalty for that is loss of down at the previous spot.  A lot of folks think this is an incomplete pass, but it isn’t.  Play continues, a flag is thrown for the illegal touching, and the down completes itself naturally.
That penalty has the same effect as an incomplete pass, as far as down and distance, but doesn’t affect the game clock - it starts on the next snap.
Now, if he is still OB when he touches the ball, then THAT is only an incomplete pass, and the ball is dead at that point.  No foul.  No penalty.  And the clock would start on the snap.

But that’s not what happened.

Both clocks should start on the RFP.

Robert