My state association sends out a weekly officiating video that clarifies rulings, etc. The video this week was, I believe, incorrect on a rules question about legal formations. They cited 2-32-9 (lineman definition - ), 2-32-3 (back definition), and the formation requirements of 7-2-5. On most clips in the video, there are 5 ineligibly numbered linemen correctly on the line of scrimmage, but in several of those clips, there are ends and/or receivers who are not clearly on the line of scrimmage nor are they in the backfield because they are breaking the plane of the nearest player to them who is on the line. The head of officiating in the video says that those formation were legal because there were at least 5 ineligibles on the line, and 4 backs clearly in the backfield. That is where my problem with the ruling is. The other players were neither backs nor linemen because they were not breaking the waist of the center and they were breaking the waist of their nearest teammate who was on the line. This pretty clearly contradicts 7-2-3, so I wonder if a clarification would be in order. Thanks for any information!