Author Topic: DPI  (Read 2638 times)

jabb000

  • Guest
DPI
« on: September 15, 2010, 10:37:37 AM »
What are the options for DPI on a TD catch in fed rules?

LarryW60

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 10:42:10 AM »
Ummm (off the top of my head):
Decline the penalty;
Accept and step off 1 1/2 yards on the try, or;
Accept and step off 15 yards on the ensuing free kick.

I'm not a White Hat so I could be wrong (and often am). pi1eOn

jabb000

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2010, 11:30:22 AM »
Hey Fad -I am with you on this one. And when they accept the penalty they keep the TD. Correct


LarryW60

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2010, 12:29:24 PM »
Yes, you no longer lose the score if you accept the penalty on B.

ppaltice

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2010, 12:40:10 PM »
Fadamor is correct.  NFHS rule reference: 8-2-2.

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2215
  • FAN REACTION: +81/-12
Re: DPI
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2010, 01:43:42 PM »
Also remember, if the TD/DPI is on the last timed down of the 4th quarter, the foul MUST be marched off on the try (if there is one).  The rule for enforcement of a foul on a TD scoring play specifically says the "succeeding kickoff", so it can not be carried into OT.

If the DPI foul occurs on the try, though, that can be carried over, since the rule states "succeeding spot" for a try.

GoGoGo

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2010, 08:36:21 AM »
Is there a case play that deals witih this kind of play?

ppaltice

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2010, 03:22:15 PM »
As I mentioned, the Rule is 8-2-2.  Might start your case book study with 8.2.2.  There are a few cases that discuss this.

GoGoGo

  • Guest
Re: DPI
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2010, 07:42:02 AM »
Mis-placed so I moved it.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2010, 09:24:14 AM by GoGoGo »