Author Topic: Goalline extended  (Read 6220 times)

eagles

  • Guest
Goalline extended
« on: October 06, 2010, 06:42:40 AM »
Under NFHS rules does a player who goes airborn from being hit and goes out of bounds but crosses the goal line extended score. He is not diving for the endzone. I know under NCAA he gets the goal line extended in this case.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2274
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-25
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2010, 07:55:40 AM »
According to CB 2.26.3, since A1 was not touching inbounds and was short of the goal
line when he was hit, it is not a touchdown even though the ball did break the
goal-line plane extended.

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1232
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-44
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2010, 03:43:02 PM »
According to CB 2.26.3, since A1 was not touching inbounds and was short of the goal
line when he was hit, it is not a touchdown even though the ball did break the
goal-line plane extended.

'Bama, I was looking at this CB play too earlier today; but there is a difference between it and eagles' post.  In his play the runner was hit while in bounds and driven airborne - not "diving" as in the CB.  So, interestingly, the CB play doesn't quite address the question.

With that said, I believe the "no touchdown" call is correct due to the wording in Rule 2-27-3 itself: "When related to a live ball in a runner's possession (touching in bounds) while the ball is over the out of bounds area, the goal line includes the extension beyond the sidelines".  I read this as, under FED rules, the goal line is extended beyond the sidelines ONLY when the runner is is touching in bounds.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2010, 06:14:08 PM »
As I understand it, this is a difference in NFHS and NCAA rules.  In NFHS, the runner gets the benefit of the goal line extended only if he is touching inbounds.  If he is airborne, it doesn't matter how he got that way, he has to get the ball inside the pylon.

In the NCAA, the runner gets the benefit of the goal line extended if he is inbounds or was KNOCKED airborne.  The only time he does get it is if he went airborne on his own.

GoGoGo

  • Guest
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2010, 06:21:45 AM »
If he voluntarily leaves his feet it is not a TD and we place the ball where the foremost point broke the sideline.
If he was hit and caused to go airborne it is a TD.

Any suggestions?

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2010, 07:04:08 AM »
If he voluntarily leaves his feet it is not a TD and we place the ball where the foremost point broke the sideline.
If he was hit and caused to go airborne it is a TD.

Any suggestions?

That is the NCAA rule.  I can't find any support for that in the NFHS rules.

Offline Ump33

  • *
  • Posts: 208
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-2
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2010, 09:43:24 AM »
If he voluntarily leaves his feet it is not a TD and we place the ball where the foremost point broke the sideline.
If he was hit and caused to go airborne it is a TD.

Any suggestions?


That is the NCAA rule.  I can't find any support for that in the NFHS rules.

Case Book 2.26.3 Situation (b) is pretty clear ... No Touchdown.

2.26.3 SITUATION: Runner A1 is advancing towards Bís goal line and is very near the sideline. (a) A1 advances into Bís end zone while holding the ball outside the sideline plane; or (b) A1 dives toward the end zone, but is hit by B1 which causes him to land out of bounds beyond the goal-line extended. A1ís last contact with the ground was short of the goal line. In both cases the ball breaks the plane of Bís goal-line extended. RULING: In (a), it is a touchdown because A1 was touching inbounds when the ball broke the plane of the goal-line extended. However, in (b) since A1 was not touching inbounds and was short of the goal line when he was hit, it is not a touchdown even though the ball did break the goal-line plane extended. The ball is spotted at the inbounds spot on the yard line where the foremost point of the ball crossed the sideline plane when A1 was driven out of bounds.

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1232
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-44
Re: Goalline extended
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2010, 09:59:23 AM »


Case Book 2.26.3 Situation (b) is pretty clear ... No Touchdown.

I think what AB (and the original post) were trying to get at is what if the runner is 'unintentionally", if you will, driven off his feet.

But I believe what I posted earlier will make it simpler to rule on: that the goal line is extended ONLY when a runner is in possession of a live ball while touching the ground in bounds (Rule 2-27-3).