2-10 Muff ARTICLE 2. A muff is an unsuccessful attempt to catch or recover a ball that is touched in the attempt.
This was a muff as the ball was clearly on it's way to the ground before contact. The judgment that has to be made here is did the defender comply with 6-4-1 that requires that the receiver " ..... must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick." .
Thanks for the rule references guys; but I'm still a little confused. As I look at the play the receiver did not signal for a FC, muffed the ball, and got hit. This scenario seems to line up with 2-10 (as "ump" points out) and 6-5-1a (as pointed out by "Pureheart").
But rule 6-4-1 says "unimpeded opp to catch...". Does that mean opp to
complete the catch? If so, why not say "complete"; and why even mention a muff? Why not say the same thing as in the FC interpretation?
MJT points out some guidelines regarding "doubt" and a catch or muff. Are these NCAA or a specific conference's guidelines? This seems to be a "bail out" clause. You get into position, observe what happens, and make (and then live with) the call
I think, in this play, the receiver chose not to give up his return of the kick by not calling a fair catch and the kicking team player timed his "arrival" perfectly (not before touching but after the muff), and the KCI call clearly penalized an excellent play.