Play: 1st and Goal from the B8. A's forward pass goes to the back of the end zone. Before the pass was thrown receiver A88 accidentally stepped over the end line out of bounds. He then stops there. The pass is headed to him when he jumps in the air and bats while in flight with his jump originating from out of bounds it to receiver A87 who catches it in the end zone for an apparent TD. A88 never came back in bounds during the play.
What do you rule? PLEASE CITE RULES & CASE BOOK SOURCES. It may be a bit water bucket but after seeing a similar play this weekend in college it is a possibility.
(I have a TD on the play. It is not illegal participation since A88 never came back into play. It's not incomplete because A88 was not touching anything out of bounds when he batted the ball. It's not illegal batting because A88 is still an eligible receiver and he can bat a forward pass in any direction).