The math probably comes out the same, but remember that in NCAA we no longer have to have 7 on the line. Just as long as there are no more that 4 in the backfield. Again, not having 7 in this play would mean we have more than 4. I'm also curious about the left guard and left tackle. They are standing straight up. I don't know if their head is breaking the waistline of the snapper. Could be that there are only 3 or 4 on the line.
Jason, I appreciate the feedback. So in NFHS, we focus on having 7 on the line of scrimmage to have a legal formation, and are you saying that NCAA focuses on not having more than 4 in the backfield? If that is the case, it seems like a philosophical difference between the two organization, as I thought the intent was to no fewer than 7 on the LOS no matter the level of play.
In other words, if I have 7 on LOS, and 4 in the backfield we both (NFHS and NCAA) have a legal formation.
If I have 6 on the LOS and 4 in the backfield, in NFHS, I have an illegal formation, but using the NCAA logic you would have a legal formation?
My white hat and I once got into a discussion because he was trained to count the backfield. When I threw a flag for an illegal formation (NFHS) he said no, because he had 4 in the backfield, to which I responded, great but I have 6 on the LOS. The team's 11th man was on the sidelines with his buddies watching the game instead of being in the game.
That could be a difference between the two organizations, and since this game was governed by NCAA rules, it may have been a legal formation. I know if that play happens in any of the NFHS states, a flag drops.